I want more!

Posted: January 15, 2008 in musings

I must admit that I struggle with being content.  Now before you write me off as being materialistic, please hear me out.  Trust me when I say that I in no way mean possessions.  (We have lived in “temporary housing” for over a year now;  12 months in our camper and currently 3 months in the upstairs of my parents’ house.  All the while, most of my “possessions” have been in a 10×20 storage building.  So I have come to realize how unimportant they really are.)  I tend to be discontent with what I am doing with my life.  I love being a mother and wife and I look forward to being a grandmother many years from now, but as far as my life’s work for God, I want more.  I was reminded the other day of the Stephen Curtis Chapman song, “See the Glory”.  In it he says,

“I’m playing Gameboy standing in the middle of the Grand Canyon
I’m eating candy sittin’ at a gourmet feast
I’m wading in a puddle when I could be swimming in the ocean
Tell me what’s the deal with me
Wake up and see the glory”.

Some of my favorite verses are Eph 3:20″He is able to accomplish infinitely more than we would ever dare to ask or hope”, and 2Chron 25:9″The Lord is able to give you much more than this”.

I just don’t want to “settle”.  I want MORE!

Leave a Reply

