A Dog’s Life

Posted: January 22, 2008 in musings

My girls have been reading my blog and have said that I need to just write about our life and not always have a “moral” to every story.  Well, sorry girls, I guess I have been homeschooling for far too long to not look for those “teachable/learn-able moments” in everything that happens.

We have had a Golden Retriever, “Kida”, living in our home with us for 4 years now.  (Yes, she was even with us last year when we lived in our camper for a year, and still with us while we are living upstairs at my parents’, who are definitely not “dogs in the house” kind of people.)  She is very spoiled to being in a “climate controlled”  environment and just wants to go outside to “do her business” and then expects to come right back in.  She and I have a kind of love/hate relationship.  She loves me and I hate her. NO, I am just kidding. We do have a unique relationship, though. She obeys me better than she obeys anyone, but I think it is out of fear rather than love. I have high expectations of her and she knows that.

 Anyway, she is very content to just lay around. As long as she gets her one cup of food in the morning, she demands very little else.  Occasionally, we will pick her up one of those $.88 toys you find at the counters at Walmart, and she is so excited to get it.  She runs and plays with it and eventually tears it into shreds.  The thought I had is this, although she is elated when she gets a new toy, she is just as content with her life as it is.  I think that I can take some lessons from her on that count.  I know that it is glorious to be living on the mountaintop and my life seems so wonderful after a great day at church, or after a long family vacation, or even after a quiet date night with my husband.  But shouldn’t I really be just as contented with my everyday life, realizing that God has allowed me another day to live and to make some kind of impact on the people in my little corner of the world.  It is so easy to be, “Yeah God!”, right after a big mountaintop experience, but shouldn’t I be that way all the time?  God’s blessings are never-ending, not just when I get an “$.88 toy from Walmart”.

 I would include a picture of “Kida”, but I haven’t figured out how to post pictures yet.  I’m still trying to learn the “ropes” of blogging.

Comments
  1. dsimple says:

    Hey, I like your posts with the morals. That’s one reason why I keep coming back. (Maybe it’s a homeschooling mom thing?) Anyway, it’s like reading a short little real life parable. I especially liked this one about contentment and those cheap toys from Wal-mart. 🙂

    ~Debi

  2. dsimple says:

    Hi! It’s me again. 😉

    My daughter, Kelsey, never usually posts anything on her blog unless it has a moral of some sort. http://setapart.wordpress.com

    I told her about your post just now and she said, “Hey, she and I can have the same life quote!” On the bottom of Kelsey’s emails is the following quote:

    “Everything’s got a moral, if only you can find it”
    ~Lewis Carroll

    So you’re in good company … Kelsey and Lewis Carroll. 😎

    ~Debi

  3. brumbemom says:

    Thank you for your comments. I like that quote from Lewis Carroll. I will have to remember to tell my girls that! 🙂

  4. scrabblenut says:

    It’s funny to hear you say that. I have the same kind of relationship with our dog. Unfortunately 88 cent toys don’t work for her, she eats them in 10 seconds flat.

Leave a Reply

