Little, but Lethal

Posted: February 7, 2008 in musings

A show I like (actually not on Hallmark) is the USA series “Monk”.  It is an amusing show about a detective who has a lot of issues, one of which is OCD (obsessive compulsive disorder).  I have always thought that I had a little bit of this myself.  I tend to be a perfectionist about some things and will continue to do things over and over until I get them exactly right.  If you could see how long it takes me to actually hit that “publish” button on my blog, you would probably think me to be somewhat of a loon.(if you don’t already 🙂 )  When I do have to write on paper, I will always choose pencil over pen because I will probably have to erase something.  Of course then the eraser marks drive me crazy so I end up tearing out the paper and starting over anyway.  😦

I was on my daughter’s “my space” the other day and I found this quote, “I am the author of my life;  unfortunately I’m writing in pen and can’t erase the mistakes.”  It made me think about always wanting to write in pencil or type so I can just erase or backspace over what I don’t like.  Too bad in life we can’t do that.  So often we allow things to come out of our mouths that the minute they do, we wish we could just suck them back in, but most of the time the damage has already been done.  I recently had an experience with this in my life.  Someone said something that hurt me tremendously, and even though they apologized, I still feel the sting of those words even now, days later.  I pray that God would guard my words and not let something come out of my mouth that would cause pain to others.  The tongue is such a small member to be able to do so much damage.  James 3 says, “So also, the tongue is a small thing, but what enormous damage it can do.  A tiny spark can set a great forest on fire.  And the tongue is a flame of fire.  It is full of wickedness that can ruin your whole life.  It can turn the entire course of your life into a blazing flame of destruction, for it is set on fire by hell itself.”  NLT

Wow, I knew those verses were there, but to type them slowly is like..WOW!!……I may never open my mouth again. 😦

Leave a Reply

