Shower Dictation

Posted: February 11, 2008 in family stuff, other blog links, randomness

Does anyone know how to give dictation from the shower?  Do they make a waterproof dictation machine?!?  I know what you are thinking…..What in the world is that crazy girl talking about. 

 I have noticed that one of my quietest most peaceful times is during my morning shower.  Of course there are the usual interruptions:  Mommy, do you know where my school books are?   Has the dog been taken out yet?  Have you seen my pencil?  And of course the never-ending one, where is the tape?  (Scotch tape, oh my soul, if I had the money for every roll of scotch tape I have bought, the things I could do.  We seem to always be out of scotch tape.  It is definitely the #1 household item in our home.  I’m not sure where it all goes….. Well the plethora of posters that cover my girls’ entire bedroom walls could have something to do with it I’m sure.  Zac Efron, Hannah Montana, Corbin Bleu, Jonas Brothers, JJ Redick, Duke Blue Devils Men’s Basketball Team, Georgia Tech Women’s Basketball Team, etc.  I feel like all these people are actually members of my family.  I see their faces as much as I see my own kids.)……Oh my goodness, I think we have definitely chased that rabbit to its hole.

 Now, back to the shower.  During my peaceful shower time, it seems like I get all these thoughts that I want to write about.  More often than not, my kids come into my bedroom after my shower, and I am sitting at my computer in my robe with my hair in the towel, typing away, trying to get the thoughts on paper before they fly out of this feeble brain of mine.  When I get an idea, I don’t want to loose it. 

 I started thinking about how “intentional” I am about making sure the writing idea doesn’t escape me.  But, so many times I will get a thought about telling someone how much I appreciate them, or how nice they look today, or I will have a thought about fixing a meal for someone, or something as simple as making a phone call just to say “Hey”.  But I push the thought aside thinking that I will do it later, and then it is gone forever. I have completely ignored that still small voice that has unmistakeably put someone or something on my heart for a reason.  I recently read a blog about “prayer triggers”.  I think I might like to start implementing that into my thought process.  I may not stop and actually follow through with the idea, even though I probably should, but at least I can say a prayer for them in that moment. 

Comments
  1. Meg says:

    Mommy I would appreciate it if you would specify who has what posters on their walls. Considering Macey and I LOATHE Zac Efron and Hannah Montana(But the show is ok). 🙂
    Thanks Meg

  2. brumbemom says:

    Sorry Meg! The Zac Efron and Hannah Montana posters belong to the little sister. Not the big sisters. 🙂

  3. dsimple says:

    My “idea spot” is standing at the kitchen sink doing dishes by hand. I’ve actually outlined more than one of my books while up to my elbows in soapy water. There’s something about the mindless repetition of doing dishes that seems to set my creative juices flowing. My dishwasher broke down several months ago and I wasn’t able to fix it. But now that I’ve gotten back into the routine of doing dishes by hand, I don’t really feel the urgency to replace or repair the dishwasher right now. Who knows? Maybe there’ll be a new book coming now that I’m back at the sink everyday. 😉 (Interesting that both of our “idea spots” involve warm water, soap and cleaning.)

    ~Debi

  4. brumbemom says:

    Debi,
    Thanks for sharing that. So many times I think that I must be the strangest person on earth, that noone sees things the way I do. I have appreciated hearing our similarities. Isn’t there a saying, Insanity loves company 😉 Oh no, it’s “misery”, but anyway whatever fits. 🙂

  5. I get my best ideas in the shower, too, and keeping a tablet and pen in the bathroom drawer lets me write down those ideas before I come out and get distracted by children 🙂

    Thanks for stopping by my blog, and for your kind words. I look forward to scoping out your blog.

Leave a Reply

