Unconditional Love

Posted: February 12, 2008 in musings

Since this is the week of “love”, I thought I would blog in that category. 

I once heard the phrase, “Childhood is what you spend the rest of your life trying to overcome.”   I think most of us can probably relate to that in some sense.  Whether we were raised in a wonderful loving home or not, we all have those “monsters” that creep up on us from time to time. 🙂

Mine is this:  I was raised in a society where religious legalism was rampant.  I was taught salvation by grace, of course, but also that after salvation, you spend the rest of your life trying to prove your worthiness of that gift.  Every little failure would put you further and further away from God and His love and acceptance, until eventually you realize that it is useless to even try.

It was not until I was in my 30’s that I was able to escape from all of that false teaching.  We got into a church that showed me the God that I always knew had to exist.  A God who loved me unconditionally, not for what I could do for Him, but for what He had already done for me.  I summed this epiphany up as, finally “getting out of bondage and finding the promise land”.  I found that God’s love was not regulated by my pitiful attempts to please Him, it was simply given to me freely, no strings attached.  I LOVE THAT!!!  I once heard a preacher say that even on our best days, we aren’t even close to being worthy, and it doesn’t matter. 

I love the Casting Crowns song, “Who Am I“.  Part of the lyrics say, “Not because of who I am, but because of what You’ve done, not because of what I’ve done, but because of who You are.”

Now that is unconditional love!  Wouldn’t the world be a much happier  place if we could only grasp a little of the love that God has for us and pass it on to others.  I am always amazed that the Bible states “love others as yourself”, as the second greatest commandment, but we rarely hear that taught.  I think sometimes living the Christian life may be a lot simpler than we realize.  Love God, Love Others.  It really is that simple.  It’s all about love!!

Steven Curtis Chapman says it this way:

 We’ve got CDs, tapes and videos, radios and TV shows
Conferences, retreats and seminars
We’ve got books and magazines to read on everything from A to Z
And a web to surf from anywhere we are
But I hope with all this information buzzing through our brains
That we will not let our hearts forget the most important thing is

Now they’re fighting in the Middle East and they’re fighting down on 7th street
And there are fights in my own house on given days
It’s like something’s lurking deep inside that can’t seem to be satisfied
But life was not meant to be lived this way
‘Cause it’s true for every man and woman, every boy and girl
That our only hope for living here together in this world is …

This is the reason we were made
To know the love of our creator
And to give the love He’s given us away
Yeah, the Maker and the Father and the God of everything
He says to …

Love love love love love …it’s all about
Love love love love love
Everything else comes down to this
Nothing any higher on the list than love
’cause after all it’s all about love

Leave a Reply

