These are a few of my favorite things.

Posted: February 13, 2008 in it's all about me

In keeping with the “Love” theme for the week, I thought I would blog about some of the things that I love.  Of course, there are 4 people that I love more than life itself, but that love is too personal to blog about, so I will stick to simple everyday objects.

Mexican food.  My husband teases me by saying that I could eat Mexican food everyday and not get tired of it.  I am not a big meat eater, but I love the chips and salsa, the beans and the rice.  I could probably eat it several times a week for sure.  I love to cook mexican, but I have a few restaurants that are my favorites too.

I also love Thomas Kinkade paintings. We were fortunate to be traveling in Carmel, California several years ago, and went into Thom’s own personal studio, the one where he first started painting.  As soon as we walked in, I spotted my long time favorite hanging on the wall. My husband, being the wonderful man that he is, quickly decided that I needed to own that painting. The next day, Thom came by the studio and the clerk had him hand-sign the painting for me. It is truly one of my most prized possessions.

Photo Albums.  I wish that I could say that I have all these elaborately done scrapbooks, but I simply do not have the patience that it takes to complete a scrapbook.  I do however get a great deal of enjoyment out of having all my pictures in photo albums. I easily have over 50 albums filled with pictures and memorabilia from all the fantastic things that we, as a family, have experienced.  I have often told my husband that if the house ever catches on fire, once he has made sure the kids are out, start “chucking” those albums out as fast as he can. (of course only once he knows he is safe too 🙂

On a smaller scale, I also love Lighthouses and hummingbirds.  There is nothing quite as serene as looking at a coastline with rugged rocks and a lighthouse.  And hummingbirds are so small, but such busy little creatures.  I love that they are so elusive and that it is a magnificent sight to be able to see one up close.

I am grateful to God to have such a full life filled with little things that bring me a great deal of enjoyment.  His blessings are truly immeasurable even in the seemingly small things of life, He blesses us and gives us moments filled with delight.

Leave a comment