God’s Clock

Posted: February 18, 2008 in it's all about me, musings

I was brought up to believe that the KJV was the only acceptable version of the Bible, and that all the others were inaccurate.  But over the past 10 or so years, I have come to realize that is not the case.  I have discovered that my favorite version to read and especially to study is the New Living Translation.  I guess the simple, everyday language that it uses suites my feeble brain quite well 🙂  I use the NLT Daily Walk Bible as part of a devotional each day.  I had read a while back in the early part of Genesis about when Adam and Eve’s sin caused them to loose access to the Tree of Life.  I had always thought about that as a “ban”, as a type of punishment that God inflicted on them as a result of their sin.  Well in reading it again, it appears to me that God put the flaming swords there to keep them away as “protection” not at punishment.  That may not be entirely accurate, but that is how it reads to me. 

So many times I think that God is withholding certain blessings from me to punish me or because I have not earned them yet.  But looking at the story from Genesis, I realize that if God is withholding something from me, it is not out of anger, it is out of love.  He knows what I need, and when I need it.  Why is it so hard to just trust His timing and just leave it up to Him?  Out of everybody in my life, I can certainly trust Him to give me the things I need exactly when I need them.  Why is being patient so hard sometimes?  I know that He wants what is best and that He is able to do what is best.  I just simply have to trust His timing.  Well, I guess you have realized that patience is not my “strong suite”.  I am more like the person that said, “God, give me patience and give it to me right now.” 🙂

Comments
  1. dsimple says:

    “I realize that if God is withholding something from me, it is not out of anger, it is out of love. He knows what I need, and when I need it.”

    Excellent point! It’s so simple, really … but so stinking difficult to live out sometimes, isn’t it?

    I think a lot of us have the whole punishment idea deeply ingrained in our hearts and minds … I guess it’s one of those things we need to keep renewing our minds about. I know I do.

    ~Debi

Leave a Reply

