Too Busy for Priorities, I Don’t Think So.

Posted: February 21, 2008 in musings

I hear others saying and catch myself often saying, “I wanted to do that, but I was too busy.”  Well, I don’t buy that anymore.  I have come to realize that the things that are important, my priorities, I always seem to find time for.  I never seem “too busy” to have my morning coffee, or to take a shower, fix my hair, put on makeup, check my e-mail or type this blog, or even eat two meals a day(I don’t like breakfast). If I didn’t cook that meal for someone, it wasn’t because I didn’t have time, it was because it obviously was not a priority.  If I didn’t stop and play a game with my daughter, it wasn’t because I didn’t have time, it was because it wasn’t a priority. If I didn’t take the time to mail a card of encouragement to someone I know is hurting, it was because it was not a priority.  If I miss my devotional time in the morning, it wasn’t because I was too rushed, it was because I didn’t make it a priority.  I think you get what I am saying.  If we are “too busy” to get something done we probably don’t need to work on our schedule, just our priorities.

I realize we are all super busy, but everybody has the same amount of time in a day.  I think we just need to decide how we want to spend that allotted time and be intentional about what we make a priority.

I challenge you tonight when you go to bed, if you want to see what the priorities are in your life,  just look at what you spent time doing that day.

Comments
  1. Kim says:

    I have been meaning to comment on your blog, but I have been too busy 🙂
    Good post!

  2. Hey, I wasn’t sure where I should comment to you, but thanks for stopping by my blog. I think you’ve hit the nail right on the head with this entry. Someone once told me, “Don’t get so busy with the things that are urgent, that you never get to the things that are really important.”

    That has always stuck with me and kind of helps clear things up for me sometimes.

Leave a Reply

