What’s Cookin’

Posted: February 26, 2008 in chele's kitchen, family stuff, it's all about me

I have always enjoyed being in the kitchen.  The kitchen is definitely the room where I spend the majority of my time.  I love looking through magazines and seeing different layouts of kitchens and I especially love to read new recipes.  I get so excited when I am able to find a new recipe that I might actually like and my family might enjoy.  I tend to be a picky eater, so I’m not able find a lot of recipes that I don’t have to leave something out.(I don’t like anything with any type of onions or peppers) 

 I am in NO WAY a gourmet cook by any definition of the word.  I love watching the show on TLC, Take Home Chef.  He cooks some great meals and they are so extravagant.  I wish I could cook like that, but it will probably never happen.  I guess you would say that I am more of a country cook.  My husband is a true “southern boy” who thinks supper should consist of some type of meat, ‘taters and homemade biscuits.  Sometimes I am able to slip in a Mexican supper or some sort of pasta dish(two of my favorites), but most of the time it is a country meal.  Usually the first thing my kids ask me in the morning is, “What are we having for supper?”  They are so appreciative of my cooking and it is great feeling, after a meal, when my girls and my husband come up and give me a kiss and tell me how good the meal was.  I love knowing that I have prepared something for them and they have truly enjoyed it. 

I recently found a recipe on KraftFoods.com that we have really liked.   It is very simple and economical.   Zesty Chicken and Pasta  (We prefer ours with angel hair pasta and of course, I leave out the onions & peppers)  It is not one of my husband’s favorites, but he has learned to accept some pasta every now and then. 😦

Comments
  1. kim says:

    I do know you are a great biscuit maker 🙂

  2. Kerri says:

    Bill & I are the same. He is all about the meat and I love my mexican & italian dishes!

Leave a Reply

