College Road Trip

Posted: March 17, 2008 in family stuff

Top of the morning to ya! 

I have no idea where that came from, no I am not Irish.

Anyway, we had a nice weekend.  We were hit with some pretty bad storms, but yesterday turned out to be quite nice.  My husband fishes in a fishing club and they had their first tournament on Saturday, so the girls and I decided to have a girls day.  Since the weather was bad, we decided to go to the movies.  We went to see that new Disney movie, College Road Trip.  It was a ridiculous movie that promotes the idea that once a kid gets to be about 18 or 19, parents need to trust them enough to let them make some of their own decisions about their future.  That we need to loosen the reigns and allow them to grow up.  Isn’t that a ridiculous notion 😉 Do I sound like I am fixin’ to be the parent of a HS senior?!?  After the movie, I asked my daughters if they thought I was like the dad in the movie(he has a REALLY hard time letting go), they agreed wholeheartedly.  I think I have this idea that once my daughter graduates, if she goes to college right away, it will be a small school close to home.  So I ask her if she could pick any college where would she pick.   She said, “Duke University”.  So I of course said, “If you could pick another college where would you pick?” 😉 Well, most of that was meant to be funny, just in case you couldn’t read the jest in it.  But seriously, the movie was pretty good.  I tend to not be a fan of outrageous comedy, and it definitely had plenty of that, but the overall theme was very moving.  It made me cry at one point and I always judge a movie by whether or not it makes me cry.  Remember, I told you already that I am a complete “sap”. 

I know this sounds like I really am an overprotective Mother and don’t want my kids going off to college, but that really is not the case.  Remember, I told you that we are living temporarily right now and I am very willing to move to whatever city they decide they want to go to college in. 😎

Comments
  1. Lyn says:

    I have no seniors yet. My oldest will be 15 in May. He wants AF academy or something along those lines. The others following have no intention of going anywhere! lol Anyway, I wanted to say that the best place for a daughter, imo, is under her daddy’s roof till she marries. Not saying she can’t leave during the day once in a while ;0)

    Thanks for your comment on my blog. I’ve added you to my faves.

    OH and thanks for the true friendship list–was way funny! I had to copy and paste it to an email to send to some friends.

Leave a Reply

