Mostly March Madness

Posted: March 18, 2008 in family stuff

Ahhh, March Madness has arrived.  For those of you who don’t follow college basketball, March Madness is the NCAA college basketball tournament that determines the National Champion.

We are big college basketball fans.  Every year we make copies of the bracket for the tournament and fill in which teams we think will win each game and eventually who the champion will be.  You start with 64 teams and end up with 2 playing for the National Championship.  We compete as a family and my husband awards points for each level for the number of correct winners you pick.  We do two separate ones, one for the girls bracket and one for the boys.

 My older girls “bleed Duke blue”(men’s team).  They absolutely love Duke and have for as long as I can remember.  On the other hand, they despise their rivals, North Carolina, and won’t even wear or have anything that has that light blue color on it.  They call it the “bad color”.  My husband likes the Yellow Jackets, but they didn’t make it into the tournament and neither did my Gators(but apparently that seems to be the least of their problems right now!) My younger daughter loves the Georgia Tech women’s team.  We went to every home game they had this year, and got to meet them and talk to them on multiple occasions and we pretty much feel like they are our friends.  We were so proud that they made it into the tournament as a #10.

A few years ago, the tournament(men) was in our home town and Duke was one of the teams that would be playing here.  We decided to surprise the girls by buying tickets to the tournament.  It was extremely expensive and normally we would never spend that kind of money for something like that, but we knew how special it would be.  We got to go early one day and watch Duke practice and the girls were able to get very close and get some really good pictures.  A photographer from Duke was there and took a picture of all three of the girls with their cameras up and he put it on the Duke website.  My oldest daughter loves JJ Redick and that turned out to be his last college game, so she loved the idea that she was able to see him play his last college game in person.  Now, whenever we talk about some of the best memories that they have of family times, they always have that weekend at the top of their lists.  So we know it was money well spent.  It was quite special.

I will keep you informed about the bracket and who is winning.  I usually come in last.  I tend to pick alot of underdogs to win, and sometimes that turns out not to be the best strategy.

If you don’t care anything about college basketball, sorry for “boring you to tears”, but maybe you can just think of this post as a warm family story instead. 😉

Thanks for stopping by.

Comments
  1. Kim says:

    I think my alma mater, Belmont University is playing Duke. I know they will probably be creamed, but it sure would be a fun Cinderella story if they pulled it off. 🙂

  2. brumbemom says:

    You might consider it a “Cinderella Story”, but my girls would consider it a disaster like “The Titanic”. 😉

  3. Kim says:

    I think there was almost had a disaster at your house. It was a good game. Maybe next year. I was going back and forth between Lost and the end of the game both were very intense. 🙂

  4. brumbemom says:

    Oh I know, that was so incredible. My girls would have hated me, but I was so cheering for them. I love to see underdogs destroy mighty power-houses 🙂
    Does that make me a bad mother?!? 😉

Leave a Reply

