The Tragedy of Tradition

Posted: March 26, 2008 in musings

I have always been somewhat of a “rebel”, I like to call it a rebel against tradition.  Growing up I used to get into a lot of trouble for this “independent thinking”.  That’s what my parents called it instead of “rebellion”, but I still got in trouble for it none-the-less.  Yet still, many decades years later, it has stuck with me.

When I am told to do something or that something needs to be done a certain way, my first thought is to show that it can be done a different way or that it doesn’t need to be done at all.  Fortunately for me, God is extremely long-suffering and has not knocked me on my back-side sometimes when it is something that He says to do and I try to find a better way.  I don’t understand doing some particular thing just because it has always been done that way.  I wonder who first did it and why they did it the way they did and why does it mean that we have to always stick with it.  There are many, many things that we set up as pillars in our lives that are mere traditions and nothing more.  Don’t get me wrong, I love traditions and we have established many over the years, but I just don’t want to get into a rut where if someone decides to deviate, it becomes a major ordeal. 

One such tradition that we have chosen to break is this.  We go to a church right now that sends people out on multiple mission trips a year, has planted churches all over the world, and has a tremendous outreach into the community.  But we receive alot of ridicule from people for going to this particular church because the pastor doesn’t wear a tie, there is not a choir on Sunday and they do not have a Sunday evening service.  All of those things are completely traditions, but some people have set them up as guidelines that must be followed and they disregard the things that really matter all because certain things are done the way that they have always been taught they should be done. I just don’t get it.

Another tradition that we have broken is, of course, sending our children to government schools.  I can’t think of any better tradition to break than that one.  Homeschooling fits my personality so well, that I can’t imagine my life any other way.  We learn so much from each other because we have the freedom to pursue things that are important to us and to the lives that we want to create.  We aren’t tied down to having to teach or learn certain things at certain times that someone, somewhere, many years ago decided needed to be learned in that particular way at that particular age. 

One last thing is this,  I do not like the idea that the husband is supposed to go off everyday for pretty much the entire day and work at a job, most of the time that he doesn’t like, and then come home for a few hours and then repeat the same cycle.  I don’t think that is what God had in mind when he created the family.  I know that in certain instances it must be that way, but isn’t it that way primarily because we have chosen a certain type of lifestyle that dictates the need for it.  I seem to be inclined to believe that if the family can live on $25,000 a year then why must the husband earn $50,000.  Wouldn’t alot of our problems in this world be solved if we learned to make our own way and learned to live within our means.  And by means, I mean not thinking we had to have all the “traditional” things that have been set up as necessities, but are merely extravagances in most cases.  I try to remind myself, “Life is short”, what am I spending it doing. One day when our kids are grown are they going to look back and think, “I am so glad that my parent/parents worked all the time so I could live in a big nice house, ride in new cars and wear all the latest styles.”  I don’t think so.  Casting Crowns has a wonderful song, American Dream, that speaks about this subject.

Oh well, this has gotten much longer than I intended so I will stop there.  I guess I got a little carried away.  I tend to do that when it is a subject I am passionate about.  I hope you don’t think of me now as a rebel, it is really just that I have an adventurous spirit……..who am I kidding, it probably is alot more rebellion than adventure, after all, “He’s still workin’ on me“. 😉

I realize that alot of this may not be popular with alot of people, but please know that this is just how I personally feel.  It is not meant to offend or judge anyone. 😎

Thanks for stopping by.

Comments
  1. Lyn says:

    We’ve ben looking for a way for dh to be home more. It’s hard to figure it out.

    Read any Vision Forum or Voddie Baucham stuff? ;0)

    We ‘go’ to church just once a week. But we come from the 3x or more stuff. Once we got to boy #4–just wasn’t even desirable to do so anymore. We had no family time…so that is why we’re in a family integrated church now.

Leave a Reply

