Mall Upset

Posted: March 29, 2008 in musings, randomness

Good morning ya’ll.  My DH is fishing in a tournament this weekend and left yesterday, which gave me and the girls two days alone.  We spent yesterday finishing up our school for the week and then decided to spend the evening at the mall.  We just kinda browsed from store to store and didn’t really set out to find anything special.  We were in Claire’s, and we witnessed a very disturbing scene, or atleast I found it to be very disturbing.  I know this is probably a little controversial, but I thought it was extremely upsetting.  A mom was sitting in a chair holding her screaming infant down with alot of force, while the worker tried to mark her ears and subsequently punch holes through them.  I know, I know alot of people get babies ears pierced, but I guess I had just never sat and watched the whole process.  It was horrific.  I kept thinking, if this were a parent spanking a child, who probably deserved to be spanked for something, there would be such a huge scene and the parent would inevitably be reprimanded.  But, here is this mom, forcefully holding down a screaming baby so someone can put holes through her ears.  I don’t know why this affected me so much, but it was all I could do to not say something.  We, of course, have allowed our girls to get their ears pierced, but it was when they were old enough to say they wanted it.  I know people say it hurts less when you are a baby, but that is not what I witnessed last night. 

Oh well, my girls want to have friends over tonight to watch the “Kids Choice Awards”(I haven’t actually heard them say so, but I’m sure it somehow involves the Jonas Brothers).  I told them that specific chores and room-cleanings have to be done for this to happen, so I better get in there and “supervise”. 

 I hope you have a “blessed weekend” and thanks for stopping by. 

(If you have any opinions on the whole ear-piercing thing, I would love to hear them.)

Comments
  1. Meg says:

    Yes the Kid Choice Awards do involve the Jonas Brothers!!!!!! Why else would we watch it?? They are going to win by the way.

  2. Macey says:

    Jonas Brothers are totally going to win tonight on the Kids Choice Awards!

Leave a Reply

