Home Education Week Post #1

Posted: March 30, 2008 in homeschooling

 Principlediscovery is hosting a Home Education Week.

 Writing Prompt:  Looking Back (Share your personal history…before you were a homeschooler)

We began our homeschooling journey 9 years ago.  Before that time, we had 1 daughter in 2nd grade and 1 in kindergarten both in public schools and 1 baby at home.  I knew a few homeschoolers, but to be honest, I thought they were a little weird.  I remember thinking, “How can they do that to their kids?”  My oldest daughter had a great year in kindergarten and 1st grade was okay, but her 2nd grade year was not so good.  It was basically a repeat of 1st grade and there were so many discipline problems in her class that the teacher barely had little time for anything else.

It didn’t take but a few months into 2nd grade for me to realize that something had to change.  I had already began substitute teaching almost everyday and then got a job as a supply teacher for the last 3 months of the year.  That is when I knew that the environment they were in was not what we wanted for our children.  I began looking into homeschooling a little deeper.  I went to a couple of support group meetings and met some of the most sincere and special people that I had ever met.  We had always been a close family, but when I met some of these women, and heard their stories, I knew that was what I wanted in my life.

We finished up the school year in public school, but then began our homeschooling journey.  I must say that we began our journey to escape the public school system, but it has turned into so much more.  When I am asked why we homeschool, people always seemed surprised that my answer is not to give them a better education.  My answer is usually along the lines of, it gives me the kind of relationship with my children that I desire, or it offers us the opportunity to really BE a family and experience and learn things together as a family.

I guess Home Education, for me, is much more about a lifestyle that we have been able to create and relationships that we have been blessed to establish.  The education that we gain along the way is just icing on the cake.

Want to read more about Home Education Week?

Comments
  1. Dana says:

    Perfect summary:

    I guess Home Education, for me, is much more about a lifestyle that we have been able to create and relationships that we have been blessed to establish. The education that we gain along the way is just icing on the cake.

    I agree and feel much the same way!

    Thank you so much for sharing your story…

  2. Karla says:

    Yes, that is our primary reason as well. I enjoyed reading about your family and your homeschooling journey.

    Thanks for visiting my blog. I hope you’ll come again soon.

  3. Heidi says:

    I started for punitive reasons – – but, continue because of that connection with my kids.
    Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

