Archive for April 1, 2008

 Principlediscovery is hosting a Home Education Week.

Writing Prompt:  April Fool’s-And we have likely all felt the fool in one way or another.  Share your greatest challenge.  Or one of those terrible, horrible no good, very bad days where the only thing there is to do seems to involve moving to Australia.

This prompt was very difficult for me.  My children are always up by 7:00am fully dressed ready to spend atleast 1 hour reading their Bibles together in harmony, then begin their academic school subjects.   They work totally independently and always complete all of their assignments without arguments.  After Lunch, they then spend several hours practicing their musical instruments and then happily join me in the kitchen where we prepare a 4 course meal for our entire family…………………………..NOT!!!  Now that is an April Fool’s.

Seriously, after 9 years of homeschooling we have many, many stories of how things have definitely not gone the way they were planned to go.  We have had many days where I just sit and wonder, “What in the world was I thinking having these monsters, wanting to homeschool these precious children 😉 ”  We have had days when I am pleased if we atleast read something that day.  I figure if all else fails, atleast they can just go read something. 

I always begin my school year with very detailed lesson plans.  I am very much an organizer and I love to plan.  I am somewhat of an OCD personality and my strength is definitely making plans and schedules.  I probably spend a good month trying to get ready for school to start.  I come into the year with all three girls lessons completely planned out and I know exactly when they will be ready for each test and exactly when each subject should be completed.  The trouble begins when life so carelessly interferes with my very detailed, very thought-out plans.  I don’t believe a year has gone by where by the end of September, I haven’t completely trashed my whole plan and schedule.  Yet, year after year I continue to plan ahead and get everything on paper exactly how I want it to be.  I guess atleast for those few brief moments, my life is perfectly organized and planned out and that is enough for me 😎

There have been days, for example, when I am doing math with my daughter and we are learning fractions or something like that, and then out of the blue, she says, “Now what is 2 + 2 again.” 😉 It is days like that when all I can do is remind myself of those exceptional words of wisdom from the that little blue fish, “Just keep swimming.”

Want to read more about Home Education Week?