Home Education Week Post #7

Posted: April 5, 2008 in homeschooling

Writing Prompt:  Looking Forward- What are your goals for home education?  What do you hope to instill in your children?  Are you planning any changes to how you educate your children?

Well, I must begin by saying that this week has certainly been fun,  challenging, but fun.  I am not used to posting everyday for a whole week and I will definitely need a few days to recuperate after this, but I have still enjoyed it immensely.

What are my goals for home education?  What do I hope to instill in my kids?  Well, first and foremost, I want my kids to find God’s will for their lives and pursue it with all their being.  I have learned, that unless you are doing what God wants you to do, everything else will be meaningless and futile.  I don’t really care if they go on to great degrees in the academic world(I do want to them to further their education in some way), but accolades from the world mean very little to me and hopefully that has been instilled in my kids as well.  I guess what I want most, is for them to get an education of academics, but more importantly, an education about life and how to live it.   And, any life lived outside the realm of God’s will is simply not a real life.

We have always called our homeschool “Veritas”, I’m sure most of you know that means truth.  I hope, after all these years of homeschooling, my kids can say, above all else, that they have been taught the TRUTH.  Not something that others have deemed the truth and have made become a truth, but the actual TRUTH.  As long as they know the TRUTH and always keep that as the guiding force in their endeavors, I will know that my job as a parent has been successful.

One other quality that we have tried to impress on our girls is, Dare to be Different.  Don’t be afaid to think “outside the box”, don’t go down a path just because that is the path that everyone else seems to be taking.  Be courageous enough to decide things for yourself.  Just because the “mainstream” seems to lean a certain way, doesn’t make it the right way for you.  I want them to be their own unique person.  If they want to do, wear, or try something, I tell them to use these three simple quidelines.  Does it hurt God, themselves, or anybody else?  If the answer to those three is “No”, then go for it.  “Dare to be Different!”

As for changes that I would like to make.  I hope to begin to loosen up a little bit within the school boundaries.  I have always been a “straight by the textbook” kind of teacher.  I plan on implementing a little more “freedom to explore” within our homeschool.  I think there is alot out there to be learned that we probably won’t find in a textbook.  I want to go down the path of a more, would be word be eclectic, style of schooling.  I know that means I will probably have to find that gene of creativity that is hidden oh so deep somewhere inside me, but I think I can do 😉

For some reason my spellcheck is no longer working, so hopefully I have found any misspellings, but if not, please forgive 😛

 

Comments
  1. Ellen says:

    I enjoyed reading your goals and about your emphasis on God and His truth. We’ve relaxed more in our homeschooling, too, and have become more eclectic. I’m so glad that I can use what works best and change it from year to year. At first, I thought that I had to choose one curriculum and stick with it the entire time we homeschooled. I need to work more on “Dare to be different”. I have a teen daughter and a preteen daughter that are trying to fit in and appear to be like everyone else.

  2. I love your thoughts on TRUTH! That is exactly what we are tring to do too. It is the most important thing.

    I enjoyed getting to know you a little this week.

    Stacy

  3. Karla says:

    Great posts this week! Thanks for sharing!

  4. Heidi says:

    Have really enjoyed reading all of this weeks’ posts.
    Thanks for sharing!

  5. Tammy says:

    Finally had a few minutes to go visiting blogs for Home Education Week and wanted to stop by to visit you since you visited me 🙂

    How fun to hear about your girls 🙂 I have three girls at the end of our family and they certainly keep life, um, animated! LOL! Sounds like yours do, too 🙂

    And we’re on the same page on changes for the future….I want to recapture my creativity gene as I know it’s there somewhere!

    Blessings,
    Tammy ~@~

  6. Tammy says:

    HA! Now that I see my response above I can tell that I smile WAY too much!

    Blessings,
    Tammy ~@~
    🙂

  7. mrs darling says:

    Yes its been lovely reading all of these. I still havent made all the rounds. Wishing you the best in your homeschool endeavor.

Leave a Reply

