I want my portable home!

Posted: April 9, 2008 in randomness

I’m not sure if I told you this or not, but we sold our camper a couple of weeks ago.  Camping is the only way that we have vacationed in many years.  We have had a camper for about 7 years, but this one was the one that we lived in for a year last year in Florida and we decided that it was time to get rid of it.  I told my DH that it was cursed, having to live in it for a year, kinda took the joy out of it, so we sold it.  Well, now we are planning a trip to the beach and are having to look for a condo to stay in.  I know some people may not consider camping being spoiled, but I definitely do.  We have not had to stay in a condo or motel in so many years, that this is hard.  My DH has been searching and searching on the internet, but we can’t seem to find just the right one.  For one thing, they are so doggone expensive.  We are used to paying campsite prices and compared to that, a condo is a small fortune.  Another thing is, remember our 4-legged family member.  She has never stayed in a kennel or anything because she always goes with us wherever we go.  There are only a limited number of places that allow pets her size.  And I also worry about cleanliness and smells.  I am bad about not liking the smell in places.  So many times it’s like you can smell lingering cigarette smoke or something else.

Before, we have always just pulled our “portable home” behind us and that was that.  I didn’t realize how spoiled I was.  I’m sure eventually we will buy another camper, but for now, we will just have to lower our standards and stay in one of those big high-rise condo units with king-sized beds and corian countertops and plush furniture 🙂 . I guess sitting on a balcony overlooking the beautiful Gulf of Mexico, listening to the soothing sounds of the inpouring waves will just have to be good enough. 😎

Comments
  1. Macey says:

    please stop talking about the waves and the beach! I can’t wait to hurry up and get there!

  2. mrs darling says:

    We vacation a lot and Ive often wished for a camper. You will indeed have life hard in that condo! LOL

  3. Wow! We’re just the opposite. I’ve always wanted a camper but my dh prefers hotels and rental condos. We stayed in a great one in Fort Myers Beach several years back. It was right on the Gulf; what a treat!
    Have a great vacation 🙂

  4. Renae says:

    I loved the days we could pack up our camper bus and go away for the weekend. Sigh.

    Enjoy the beach!

Leave a Reply

