Books, A Real “Mystery”

Posted: April 14, 2008 in randomness

I must admit that I love to read.  I try to read books about bettering(is that a word?) myself;  how to be a good wife, how to be a good mom, how to succeed at homeschooling, how to be a better Christian, etc.  But my true passion, my “vice” if you will, is Mystery Novels.  I have to limit myself though, because once I get into a novel, the rest of the world seems to fade into the background.  I can get so engrossed in the book, that I rarely get everything else done that I need to get done.  But I do allow myself this escape every once in a while. 

 I enjoy Sidney Sheldon and Stephen King, however, sometimes, their language and darkness is beyond my realm of enjoyment.  The new King novel though, Duma Key, looks to be quite the page-turner, but it isn’t at my library yet and I don’t really want to pay the hardback price for it either, so I guess I will just have to wait.  I guess I could read it page by page each time I visit Walmart or the book store. Is that legal?!?  Well, it is over 600 pages anyway, so that might take too long 🙂 . My true “don’t miss a single novel” writer is Mary Higgins Clark.  I just love her mannerisms and the topics that she writes about are so enthralling.  I get so involved with her characters that I feel like I am really living in the settings of the books.  She is an amazing mystery writer.  I have just finished one of hers, I Heard That Song Before.  And as usual, it was great!  I think, other than the newest hardback that just came out, I have read every novel that she has written.  Her daughter, Carol Higgins Clark, is also a wonderful writer.  Her books, in my opinion, seem to be a little “lighter read” than her mom’s.  A couple of years ago, my DH bought me a novel by Nicholas Sparks. I had never read him before, but after reading that one, I have since checked out all the ones that I could find at the library.  He doesn’t write mysteries, but they are very heart-felt without being your usual romance novel. (I hate those).  My favorite of his is Dear John.  It was very moving and quite a good story about love and sacrifice. 

There are so many good books out there, I could spend most of my waking hours just reading, but I fear that my family might actually expect a little more of me.  Oh well, summer is coming and that means long days sitting by the pool, with of course, book in hand!  If you have read any good ones lately, I would love to hear about them.

Thanks for stopping by and have a great week! 😎

 

Comments
  1. mrs darling says:

    Oh I love Nicholas Spark and have you read Anita Shrieves books? Oh my, Light On Snow is excellent. Also make time for Secret Life of Bees that I referenced in todays post.

  2. Kerri says:

    I have just finished the new Mary Higgins Clark book – if you would like to borrow it, you are welcome to. It was great and I got nothing done until I finished it!

Leave a Reply

