Thank You for Being a Friend

Posted: April 15, 2008 in other blog links, randomness

I was already thinking about some of my friends and wanted to write a short post about them, but then when I read this post on Dishpan Dribble it inspired me.

I have a great group of friends in different walks of life.  Some of my closest are of course, fellow homeschooling moms.  We meet on Tuesdays and let our kids hang out while we just sit around and talk about whatever happens to be on our minds.  There are 7 of us and we kind of have this chemistry that works so very well.  We are each different and each of us brings our own thoughts and backgrounds and personalities to the table(literally, we all sit around a table 🙂 atleast until the weather gets better, then we meet at a local park)  But as much as I love those friends, I also have some friends that are not homeschoolers.  I have a “Disney” buddy.  She and her family are disney fanatics like us, so we like to get together and discuss nothing but Disney stuff.  I have a friend that is a public school teacher and we get together and discuss things about life that have nothing to do with school.  Some of my friends are older and some are a little younger.  Some that I know I can call at any time and spill my heart out to, and others that I just call when I need to hear a friendly voice.

I have one friend, she has been my friend probably as long as anyone that is in my “inner circle”.  She is always upbeat and I know that anytime I talk to her, I will always leave feeling better than I did when I started.  Now don’t get me wrong, I rarely start a converstion with her unless I know I can afford to be talking quite a while.  She definitely likes to talk, but it is always interesting and I usually learn something that I didn’t already know. 

 I have another friend that, what can I say, she just “gets me”.  We don’t often pick up the phone and call each other just to talk, but we have been friends a long time and I know, deep in my heart, that she would always be in my corner, no questions asked.  She is one of those kind of friends that tells it like it is.  No talking in circles or no telling me what I want to hear, she just gives it to me straight.  I have grown to truly appreciate that over the years, and she is one of my favorite people. 

 I have another friend that is the one that everyone likes to get advice from, school related.  We kinda look to her to keep us on our toes and she is very much the academic one of the group. 

We also have family friends.  We have certain ones that we will always think of first when we want another family to hang out with.  Their kids mix well with our kids, we enjoy participating in the same kinds of activities and we always have a great time together just hanging out.  Whether its playing cards, going on trips or just sharing a meal, there is always fun and we truly need these types of friends in our life.

 And then there is my oldest and dearest friend.  She lives 1000’s of miles from me and we have only seen each other 3 times since 1986, but when we are together, it is as if we have never been apart.  We were college roommates oh so many years ago, and we became soulmate friends and will forever be. 

I have many other friends that I have not “profiled” here, but they are all equally important in my life and I love each of them.  I am so blessed to have all these unique people in my life.  They are all very different and it takes all of them to make my life so rich and full in the area of friendship.  Each one has their own virtue and I know that I am the better person for having each of them in my life.  And, to my blogging friends, whom I don’t know personally, I enjoy so much reading your posts and building this new fangled type of online friendship. 

Thanks for reading and I hope you are as blessed in the area of friendship as I am.  But I still have plenty of room for more and I would love to get to know you and add you to my list of “blogging buddies” just drop me a note.   I know there is much we can learn from each other. 

Have a great day! 😎

 

Comments
  1. Margaret says:

    Great post! You have me thinking about some of my friends that I haven’t communicated with in a while!

  2. Tammy says:

    You are right! Friends in our lives come in all sizes and shapes with the variety varied enough to meet different needs in our life at different times. It really is pretty cool, isn’t it? 🙂

    Blessings,
    Tammy ~@~

  3. Which one am I? The older one? The younger one? Surely, I’m not the one that talks a lot…

  4. brumbemom says:

    Hey, I said it was never boring and I always learned something! Now if we can just channel all that energy into more blogging, we can keep more up to date on each other. 😉

Leave a Reply

