It’s the Most Wonderful Time of the Year

Posted: April 18, 2008 in family stuff, homeschooling, randomness

No, I’m not talking about Christmas.  Of course I mean SUMMER!!! 


It seems like we have had a looooong winter season.  I know, those of you who are from the north, are thinking, “What can this Southern Belle possibly know about long winters?”  And you are probably right, but could you please allow me this rant 😎 Other than a few years that I lived in the Chicago area while in college, I have always lived in the south where even a 1 inch snowfall would shut down an entire city 😉 .  I used to think that I would love to live up north where there was snow all the time and thick warm sweaters were the daily attire, but that is not the case anymore. I don’t mind some cold days, but once April hits, I want the shorts and flip-flops to be the only clothing in my closet.  We have been going back and forth between 30’s and 70’s and it has definitely gotten old!  But, there is light at the end of this tunnel.  Summer will be here soon and it brings with it the most wonderful sunny days, with 90-100% humidity 😦 yikes, I forgot about that for a minute! 


The end of the school year also brings about an event that I immediately start looking forward to at the first sign of spring, the annual homeschool convention. It is always so much fun to just go and hang out with thousands of other homeschool moms and see all the new “stuff” that has came out recently. This is my 10th year homeschooling, but each year I feel a sense of overwhelm when I first go in the vendor hall.  There is so much good in there, that I am always afraid that I will miss out. I try not to buy too much the first day.  I like to come home and reevaluate everything and let it soak in and then make my decisions to buy the second day. 


My oldest will be a senior and hers is pretty much already set.  She only needs a few things and she will be done, however, I haven’t found just the perfect Government course yet. 


My middle will be a sophomore and she is similar to the same type of learner as her older sister, so I can use alot of the same kinds of curriculum that I have done in the past.  I don’t know if she is really an Apologia girl though.  I may go with BJU or ABeka for Biology.  They both prefer the textbook approach, so I generally go that route with them.


My youngest is a totally different style learner than her sisters.  She likes the hands-on approach and she learns through doing, not reading about it.  So, she is my biggest mystery for this upcoming convention.  I want to find something that will just suite her personality so well.  I have been looking at My Father’s WorldSome of it sounds like it would work wonderfully for her, but I am hesitant to spend that kind of money on something that would be brand new to me and that I haven’t really had a chance to sit and thoroughly go over.  Think they would let me pull up a chair in their booth and go through the entire program? 😦 Probably not.

Oh well, I still have a couple of weeks.  If all goes according to plan, I will find exactly what I want, at discounted prices and my kids will love the idea of schooling with their new books and all will be well in my little world of homeschooling.  WHAT PLANET IS THAT ON?!?  I’m sure I will buy more than one thing that I will never use and pay way too much for it and by December, I will have totally switched curriculums and be starting my plans all over.  I wonder if they have ever thought about having conventions in January too. 🙂

Thanks for stopping by for a visit and have a glorious weekend! 😎

Leave a Reply

