Monday Meme-Homeschool Hi-Light

Posted: April 21, 2008 in homeschooling

Fun Learning asked me to participate in a Monday Meme.  It’s subject is Homeschool Hi-Lights.  Write a post about a highlight from your past week of home learning.

Well, I didn’t have alot of time to think about this and to be quite honest, I can’t really think of very many highlights from this past week of learning at home.  With only a few weeks of school left, I am into celebrating even baby steps.  It seems that with each passing week and knowing that summer break is just looming out there in the shadows, we are struggling to keep our focus when everything inside screams out, “Just forget school today and get out and enjoy the sunshine,” and then I realize I probably shouldn’t be screaming. 😉

The lesson plans are almost completed and most tests have been taken and now that all of that little stuff is out of the way, I want to focus on learning about what is really important in life.  Love for each other, having patience when things don’t go our way, learning to take responsibility for our things and our actions.  Realizing that our life is God’s and it is up to us to make choices that will be beneficial to His calling for us.  These lessons can be learned at any age and I know they are more important than math, history or science. (Don’t tell my kids I said that 😉 )

Here are a few highlights I came up with: 

I did come into my room to see big sister and little sister at the computer, which was odd, then I realized that big sister was helping little sister “edit” an essay that she had written for her writing assignment.  I guess anytime that you can see evidence of sibling love it’s a big deal.

Another highlight for me was that I found several books from 10th grade that my daughter used last year, which will help next year when my middle daughter starts 10th and I won’t have to buy quite a much.  Saving money is always a highlight of any week.

We did spend some time outside.  My youngest added quite a few “creatures” to her continuously growing collection of “pets”.  We added 3 salamanders, some grasshoppers, and a frog. I think we are beginning to have our own little amphibian/reptile/insect zoo here.  I am calling it hands-on science.

Have a great week!

 

Comments
  1. Kim says:

    It sounds like you had a great week. It’s always good to be outside and we are spending more time out as well.

  2. mrs darling says:

    Sounds like a good school week. Theres no sunshine here. Its snowing even this minute! Its just unreal!

  3. Ellen says:

    I know how exciting it is to see siblings helping each other. What a wonderful thing to observe. I love all the spiritual lessons that you mentioned. Those will effect the kids for a lifetime.

    Thanks so much for participating in the first edition of this meme. I’m going to keep it going right through summer, too. We don’t officially homeschool during the summer. But there is still a lot of learning going on.

  4. Ganeida says:

    I love when the kids get along. It is just HUGE. Having spent 4 hours with 3 of mine confined in a car over the weekend I really appreciated the effort they made to be nice to each other ~ especially as I was ther designated driver!

  5. Danielle says:

    I hope you read that article that I linked 😉 For me, it really helps keep me balanced in this home school adventure. I get a knot in my stomach whenever I think about books and tests.

    Unlike you we are not taking summer off. For summer we are doing a unit on Florida history which will include many – cheap, cheap, cheap, field trips around our great state 😉 My daughter is flip flopping about how she feels about this…but we will do a lot of swimming in between!!!

    Thanks so much for stopping by my Hi-Light post!!!

Leave a Reply

