Ignorance is Bliss

Posted: April 22, 2008 in it's all about me, randomness

No, that is not the motto for my homeschool! 😉

Have you ever known people that love to be the “bearer of bad news”.  I hate to be around people like that.  I know it may not be the most politically correct thing to do, but I would rather not know about all the evilness in the world.  I don’t watch the news and I try not to listen to others sit and talk about all the bad things going on all around us.  I know you may say that “You can’t hide your head in the sand”, but I say why not.  What is to be gained from hearing about kidnappings, rapes, child molesting and horrific killings.  I know that these evils exist, but why must my mind be on them.  I have learned that once something gets into my brain, I start forming pictures and they stay with me for a long time.  I don’t want those horrible things on my brain.  I find myself living fearful when I have been exposed to the wickedness that so abounds in our world today.   Again, I know it exists, but I don’t want to be reminded of it on a daily basis.  I had to stop watching some of the shows that I regularly watched because I caught myself thinking about those horrific sights during the day.  There are some that are just filled with unthinkable acts of violence that definitely are not the kind of thing to have on your brain as you go to bed.  I think they try to come up with the most heinous acts they can think of and put it out there for everyone to see.

I know not watching the news and not keeping up with the happenings in the world is probably not good citizenship, but whenever they start showing good things and talk about uplifting stories, then maybe I will become a news-watcher, until then, I guess I prefer to just live with my head in the sand.

Comments
  1. Danielle says:

    I’ll be your neighbor in the sand 😉

  2. Karla says:

    I totally agree! I figure if it’s important, somebody will tell me. LOL!

    I just stopped by the let you know that you won the copy of Do Hard Things that I was giving away. Email me your mailing address and I’ll get it out to you!

  3. Randi says:

    The only news I see is on the internet and it is usually just headlines. I find that if I pay too much attention, I start getting fearful about life and that is just not good.

    I guess I am joining you in the sand!

  4. Renae says:

    I think that the publicity of evil makes us think it is more prevalent than it really is. That leads to fear. And that leads to kids having less freedom. Obviously I try not to be irresponsible, but thinking that a child predator lives next door (if they don’t, big if) can prevent children from even playing outside.

Leave a Reply

