Monday Homeschool Meme

Posted: May 5, 2008 in homeschooling

Fun Learning is hosting a Monday meme on Homeschool Hi-Lights from the past week.  I decided to participate this week because last week’s highlight is very evident this time.  It was the annual Homeschool Convention.

I went all day on Friday and Saturday  with some friends and it was a great time of shopping and just being with all those other homeschooling families.  I met some great people and had a chance to talk to several colleges and get a lot of information.  There didn’t seem to be as many vendors there this year, I’m sure the price of gas and the economy as a whole has kept some from making the trip, but it was still great. 

I had been looking for a reading program from my daughter that struggles in reading due to dyslexia, and I was able to find a back to basics reading program that I think will help her a lot.  It is Teach 4 Mastery The man that does it took a lot of time and really explained the program to me and I was very impressed with it.  I also found a very interesting geography book to do with her. It is called Geography Through Art.  It is a very hands-on geography and it incorporates art into every lesson.  I know she will love learning that way. 

Before I went to the convention, I sat down with each of my girls and went over my plans for the next year and asked them if they had any specific requests that they wanted me to look for.  My youngest daughter said she would do anything I got, but she wanted a science that was nothing but animals.  She said, “I don’t want to learn about space or energy or the body, I just want to learn about animals.”  So, because I always try to do exactly what my kids want 😉 , I set out in search of a science that was only animals and I found a great one. It is from Apologia, of course, it is Zoology 3, The Land Animals of the Sixth DayShe has already spent some time going through it and is already excited about starting it. 

My older girls were a little easier to shop for.  Most of their things have already been set and I pretty much am using alot of the same things with my middle daughter that I used with the older daughter.  I did find a  good art appreciation book that I think they will enjoy.  It is Discovering Great Artists.  It breaks down some of the famous artists from the past and gives examples of their work and then leads the student to create their own “masterpiece”.

I also attended a session with Jeannie Fullbright, on “Notebooking”.  It was very informative and I plan on incorporating some of that into our homeschool.  We have done some notebooking in the past, but I think it will be a great way to add more hands-on to our subjects.  And will be a great tool for future portfolios.

Overall the convention was a great time of fellowship and just absorbing all the energy that homeschoolers exude.  It is always the end of the year event that I look forward too all year.  Even though this one was a bit of a disappointment because some of my favorite vendors weren’t there, it as still great and I got so much accomplished, and gained some very helpful insights.

I usually like to buy most of my things from Rock Solid, but they weren’t there this time, so I had to look around at some of the others.  I discovered Solomon’s Secrets who seem to have some great prices. The people at The Faithful Bookshop were very helpful and always offer free shipping.  And as always, Rainbow Resources has about anything and everything you could possibly want to look at.

I enjoy seeing all these small, family-run businesses all in one place and I am happy to give them my business. 

Thanks for stopping by and have a great week 😎

 

Comments
  1. Terri Sue says:

    Sounds like you had a great time!
    Be blessed!

  2. mrs darling says:

    Id love to go to one of these conventions. It sounds so wonderful!

  3. Wendy says:

    I need to figure out what a meme is! lol
    I wonder if you were at the same homeschool convention I was? I was only able to attend for 2 hours on Saturday and missed all the workshops. Glad you were able to get more out of the convention than I was!

  4. Julie says:

    Sounds like you had a fun and productive time at the convention. I have never been to one myself. Thanks for the links, I’m going to check a few of those out.

  5. Shari Ellen says:

    It’s great that you were able to go to a homeschool convention. I’ve never been to one. We don’t have them out here in the boonies. I love how you were able to get materials for your kids based on their personalities and individuals interests.

Leave a Reply

