Life-Packing

Posted: May 6, 2008 in family stuff, homeschooling, musings

A few days ago, we saw a commercial saying that David Blaine was going to be attempting to break a world record on the Oprah show.  Now, before you blow a gasket, we are not huge David Blaine fans by any means, as a matter of fact, I find some of his absurd magic and illusions to be quite disturbing.  But, he is very interesting and breaking a world record was something that we wanted to watch.  He was attempting to break the record for holding your breath under water.  Apparently the record was 16 minutes and 32 seconds.  That alone seems astonishing to me.  But of course, David Blaine broke the record and made the new world record 17 minutes and 4 seconds. 

 Before the stunt began he had to breathe in pure oxygen for 20 something minutes and at the last second, he did what the doctor there called “lung-packing” where he takes short gasps of air and physically shoves them down into his lungs forcing them to expand beyond the normal capacity.  I have a sensitive gag reflex and this alone was making me feel nauseous.  The doctor stated how dangerous this move was.  That when the lungs are forced to expand and take on more than they were meant to take in, that it could result in immediate death.

Well, I have been thinking about that whole “lung-packing” thing every since he did it.  How many times are we like that.  Not over packing our lungs of course, but our lives, hence, “life-packing”.  We try to extend our life beyond what we are capable of keeping control of and try to cram all that we can into it, until it is so extended that we aren’t even able to function and we sense impending doom.  I try to keep the perspective of, “It is better to do just a few things really well, than to do a lot of things half-way.” 

I think so many times we think that “more” is really better, when sometimes “more” is just “more”.  I know I start to get stressed and things that are important get left undone or either done half-hearted, when I let too many commitments and too many involvements move into our family.  We don’t have alot of outside activities right now and it is really nice to just have time to just hang out as a family and play games or just sit and watch old home movies and not be in a hurry because we have to be somewhere.

As I start to prepare for next school year, I have to keep reminding myself, that 8 subjects aren’t necessarily better then 6.(Sometimes I tend to go overboard in the learning department).  I think I’m starting to realize that learning 5 or 6 subjects really well is FAR better than just barely scratching the surface on 8 or 9.  I’m sure my kids would give a hearty “You go Mommy” to that one! 🙂

Thanks for visiting! 😎

Comments
  1. Meg says:

    Amen Mommy

    That 6 subjects thing is a good idea 🙂

Leave a Reply

