Be the Difference

Posted: May 13, 2008 in family stuff

The other Sunday at church, we sang this song about being the difference in the world.  The next day, I was having a devotion time with my girls and I asked them what they thought it meant by being different.  How can we be different than the “world”?  I was expecting the usual, by not drinking or smoking or taking drugs, not using bad language, etc.  But the answers I got surprised me.  They said, showing love to people, not judging, being honest when we deal with others, by being willing to give what we have to those in need, by spending time together as a family and keeping our bonds strong.  I have to say that I felt a little bit of pride creep in at that moment.  It made me feel so good that they went the way of the positives and not the way of the negatives. 

I think sometimes we focus on what Christians are NOT supposed to do and not on what we ARE supposed to be all about.  If we teach them how to have the attributes of Jesus and how to let Him lead us, then I think all the negative things, the “NOTS”, will take care of themselves. 

Thanks for stopping by! 😎

 

Comments
  1. Margaret says:

    Great post! Good for you with giving your girls the ability to articulate those ways of being different.

  2. Renae says:

    Very true! I grew up in a church that tended to focus on all the “nots.” I’m thankful for their heart to protect me, but I would rather have understood the reasons why “not.” I obeyed because I wanted to make God proud of me, but focusing on the external things often left me with a hard heart.

    I’m so glad your children are learning that is internal to external!

  3. Sounds like you’re raising some terrific kids….your hard work is paying off, with God’s help 🙂

Leave a Reply

