Take the Best, Leave the Rest

Posted: June 2, 2008 in randomness

Hey ya’ll.  It seems like I have been reading a lot of posts that are talking about nostalgic things.  From 80’s prom dresses to grandmother’s quilts.  Well it has gotten me to thinking back as well.

When I went to college in….well quite a long time ago, I had never really been away from home and I decided to attend a college 700 miles away.  When I arrived, I was totally blindsided to find that I would be sharing a room with 5 other girls, all of whom were already there and had already moved their things in our extremely small room.  I stood there with my 4 suitcases and several more boxes wondering what in the world was I going to do.  My mother, being the protective parent that she was, quickly went down to the Dean of Women’s office and demanded that I be moved to a room where there would only be 2 people sharing.  The Dean, I will never forget her words, said,”Mam, we spend a lot of time in prayer asking God to place each of these young women in the exact room where they need to be.  Please allow her to just give it a chance.” 

Well to make a long story short, I stayed in that room and to my utter joy, the girl sleeping in the bunk right accross from me became, to this day, my oldest and dearest friend.  In a very short time we realized that we were soul-mate friends and that our lives would never be the same. 

Well, that was 24 oops, many years ago, and although we live on opposite sides of the country, we have remained the bestest of friends 🙂 On Saturday, my husband was fishing in a tournament and we didn’t really have a lot going on so I decided to call my friend.  I am very thankful for free nights and weekends, because we talked for 2 hours or so.  We hadn’t talked for several months(she doesn’t have Internet, so it is not as easy as sending e-mails to keep in touch), and we had a lot to catch up on. 

 In our conversation, we discovered that we were in a lot of the same types of situations in our lives(it always happens that way, at one time we each bought the same car having no clue as to what the other was buying)Anyway, we talked about certain situations that we had been dealing with and she said something very profound that has been stuck in my brain since then.  She said that even though situations may not be perfect;  relationships, churches, family issues, school, curriculum, etc. , we can still just take what we need from them and then just let the other stuff pass on by.  I have never really thought about it that way. I tend to look at something and if it is not perfect, exactly what I need, then I start looking elsewhere or see how I can make it be what I need, instead of just taking the good from it and letting go of the rest.

I was very thankful for those pearls of wisdom from my far away friend.

Comments
  1. Kim says:

    Many people spend most of their lives going from thing to thing looking for the perfect when in truth they will never be satisfied because their is no perfect here. There is much truth in her statement. If more could grasp it what more fulfilled lives they would all have.

  2. Sarah says:

    Thanks for commenting on my homeschoolblogger post. Good luck with your magazine project! I usually end up saving mine for 5 years and wondering why….!

    homeschoolblogger.com/smallworld

  3. Kirstin says:

    Hi,
    Thanks for stopping by my blog! I love the pictures you have taken and I also love to have my camera with me.

  4. You are blessed to have such a friend. BTW, if you started college 24 years ago, don’t feel bad….that was a few years after some of us graduated from college :0 I’m gonna go count my gray hairs now.

Leave a Reply

