Acceptance

Posted: June 7, 2008 in musings

There are many things in life that you just have to accept;  your height, shoe size, natural abilities, your race, gender(well, maybe not now days), family, disabilities, your past mistakes, etc.

But so many things in life can be changed.  I am the type of person that does not easily accept things that I don’t like.  If I don’t like my hair, I cut or color it.  If I don’t like my curriculum, I order new stuff.  If I don’t like my house, I rearrange furniture(this happens A LOT). If I don’t like my husband, I get a new one(just making sure you are paying attention 😉 ). 

 I get frustrated when I am around people that constantly complain about the same things over and over.  I want to say, if you don’t like something, do something about it.  Kinda like “Put-up or shut-up”.  That’s not very nice is it?!? 😦

But what happens when you can’t change a certain situation?  What about when the circumstances are beyond your control?  What then?  Well, for me, that is when stress comes into play.  I don’t like having things or situations forced upon me.  But God knows better.  I think sometimes He sends things into our lives that force us to go beyond ourselves, to “grow up” and learn how to adapt. 

I think so many times, I try to change things and escape certain situations that God has put in my life for a particular purpose.  There is a verse in Psalms 46 that says, “Be still and know that I am God”.  I hate that verse(just kidding) but just being still, accepting, is hard for me.  I guess I am more of a “doer” or “changer” than an “accepter”(is that a word?!?).

There are certain areas in my life right now that I am not thrilled with, to say the least, but I can’t really do anything about them.  It is frustrating and I find myself lying awake at night trying to sort them out, but there seems to be no answer or solution.  Am I just to accept these things as God’s working and quit trying to “fix” them?  I know the answer, but it doesn’t make it any less exasperating.

Have a Great Weekend 😎

 

Comments
  1. catchthevision says:

    It has been suggested to me that avoidance of stress can be achieved by following three principles:
    – accept the unchangeable (and that includes history and our own mistakes!)
    – change what you can; and
    – avoid the unacceptable.
    Of course knowing the difference between the last two is the real test, and where we rely on our subconscious, and on our creative talents. On the whole, if we don’t try too hard, we seem to get the answers we need.
    Url: http://catchthevision.wordpress.com

  2. Renae says:

    I so hate waiting. I either press in to God or get passive. Still trying to find the balance by that cool stream of living water.

Leave a Reply

