Let’s do lunch…or just coffee

Posted: June 9, 2008 in friendship

My husband and I were in the grocery store the other day and I ran into an old friend that I hadn’t talked to in ages.  We just stood there talking while my husband graciously went to find everything we had on our list.  It was so good to catch up with her and listen to the things going on in her life and share mine with her.  We decided to get together and “do lunch” one day.  When my husband and I got back in the car, I said, “I just love her”.  It kinda made me sad to think that we have let our friendship almost dwindle away.  That got me thinking about how important friendships can be in our lives.

Why don’t we “do lunch or just coffee” more often?  I know those of you with young kids are a little more tied down and would find it a little more difficult to just run out for a few hours, but those of us with kids who could stay alone for a short time can easily do it.  I know, for me, I usually let other things take priority over keeping up my friendships, but I am beginning to realize that friendships are a beautiful thing and sometimes we need to be deliberate in keeping them vibrant.

It might be doable to take a day a month and try to meet a friend for lunch or just coffee one evening.  I have many friends that I see on a regular basis, but even then, we don’t get much one-one-one time and it’s rarely without the kids, so lunch or coffee would still be nice sometime. And the friends that I rarely see, that are just a phone call or an e-mail away, lunch or coffee would be a wonderful way to stay connected.

So,  to my fellow-bloggers that I actually know, “Let’s do lunch or just coffee”. 😎 And to my “blog buddies” that I’ve never actually met, if you are ever in my neck of the woods, drop me a note and we’ll do lunch or just coffee!

Leave a Reply

