Planning Season

Posted: June 17, 2008 in homeschooling
Tags: ,

No, that is not a typo, I didn’t mean “planting” season. 

Planning Season is one of my most favorite times.  Now that the past school year is pretty much wrapped up, I can now turn my affections toward my new stuff.  I love all my new treasures that I have found for this upcoming year and I truly find great enjoyment from sitting down with each of them and slowly going through them page by page seeing what they have for me and making all my lesson plans. I try to spend equal time with each of them and they in turn rarely disappoint me.

I like to give them each a quick scan, seeing how many chapters they have and what the main points are that they will teach.  I then like to break down each one individually and truly explore the many nuggets that they possess.  I start writing general ideas down and then get more specific as I get going.  I get myself a spiral notebook, not just any ole’ color with a wire spiral,  I treat myself to one that has a plastic spiral and I even splurge to get a pretty color.   After I have gone through each one a couple of times and have a pretty good idea of what it contains and what areas I want to cover, I then start making my detailed lesson plans. 

This whole process usually takes a couple of months to conquer, but these are times that I truly enjoy and look forward to.  I know this probably sounds weird and you are probably thinking, “What is wrong with this woman?!?”, but that is how I am and I can’t really change nor do I want to. 

I am a planner;  parties, outings, trips, meals and lessons it doesn’t really matter I will plan it and I like it that way! 

 “I am what I am, I can’t help myself and if you don’t like it, go to somebody else.”  At least, I think that is how the song goes.  That is the only part of it that I have ever heard.  It is from the Jonas Brothers and my daughter downloaded it onto my phone so I would know when it was her calling me. The Jonas Brothers, AHHHHHHHH, don’t EVEN get me started!!!

Comments
  1. Meg says:

    When you talk about the Jonas Brothers you need to refer to them as DSIL (darling son in Laws) because that us what they will be someday!!!!

  2. Kirstin says:

    I like this idea and plan on doing that a bit myself.

  3. Margaret says:

    I enjoyed reading this and it’s giving me some ideas for some planning of my own!

    I also agree with the importance of nice notebooks. Good pens, too. The right tools can really make a difference! Sounds silly but it’s true, at least for me.

  4. Renae says:

    I have been collecting resources, too. I take a few books with me wherever we go, so I can caress pages reflecting on the nuggets of truth we will discover.

    The planning is fine once I get started, but my problem is I like to have everything neat before I begin. Sometimes you just gotta leave the laundry for a bit. 😉

  5. kermooch says:

    Mmmm – I love the smell of new curriculum 🙂 We won’t need a lot of new stuff this year – which is good for the budget, but sad for me. I love to place my order and receive that big box of goodies and then spend time going through them and planning. Such an exciting time!

Leave a Reply

