Today is where your book begins….

Posted: June 20, 2008 in musings
Tags: ,

I stole that line from a song.  It is actually the ring-tone on my phone right now.  Does anyone know what it is?  (I’m sure Kerri does, she seems to be a “Guess Who” Guru!)

Anyway, we have recently began to try to empty out the storage building that we have had for almost 2 years.  We are going to try to fit it all into my parents garage so we can save from having to pay all that money just for storage space.

In the midst of all the boxes, I found one that had some old writings that I had done.  I found a journal that I kept from 2002 when we went on a long road trip out west.  On our journey, we visited the old homestead of Laura Ingalls Wilder.  In the journal I had written various things that stuck out in my mind as interesting on the tour.  One entry spoke about how Laura didn’t even start writing until she was 65.  I found that to be incredible.  One of the most beloved authors of our time, didn’t even start her writing “career” until she was 65.

I know so many times, I look back on my life with regrets about things that I didn’t do or didn’t accomplish.  I find it to be extremely encouraging to realize that it is never to late to start your dream.

Just like the song lyrics say,
No one else, no one else
Can speak the words on your lips
Drench yourself in words unspoken
Live your life with arms wide open
Today is where your book begins
The rest is still unwritten

I guess I just gave away the answer, oh well 😎

Comments
  1. I was just reading this morning that Col. Sanders was broke and depressed at age 65 when he decided to try to make some money with his mom’s fried chicken recipe. So we have lots of time, don’t we? 😉

    I answered your blog carnival question here, finally:

    http://barbaramfrank.blogspot.com/2008/06/this-weeks-carnival-of-homeschooling.html

    Have a great day!

Leave a Reply

