Wife Swap

Posted: June 27, 2008 in family stuff, homeschooling
Tags: , ,

No, this is not an ad taken out by my husband 😉

We sometime watch the show “Wife Swap”.  I’m not sure what day or what time it comes on, but I know it is on ABC.  Anyway, it isn’t really what it sounds like. It is not an immoral show where people actually swap wives.  It is really more like “mom-swapping”.  Each show two moms from across the country swap lives for 2 weeks.  They usually pick moms that are quite different, to say the least.  I have two big problems with this show. 

They often pick a “home-school” family to be one of the families.  The problem is, they rarely pick a typical HS family.  And by typical, I mean HS families like mine and most I know.  They get families that really don’t teach at all.  They are usually very lazy and dirty and never really get anything done.  Is that how society views us?  Are we lazy, careless, mindless freaks in their eyes?!?  No wonder there is so much controversy now days about home-schooling and people thinking that the government needs to raise it’s control over it.  If the world sees us as most shows portray us, then yes, we are definitely freaks to them.

 I think some of the greatest misconceptions about homeschoolers are these: 

1 – We are lazy, and we rarely actually teach our kids anything.  We keep them at home so we don’t have to fool with the school system. 

2 – Our kids are seldom exposed to those outside our home, hence the whole “socialization” issue. 

 3 – We aren’t really qualified to teach our own kids.  Do we even have a certificate proving that we are qualified?  Let me just “camp” here a bit.  Don’t most parents teach their own kids to talk, eat, dress themselves, walk, run, ride a bicycle, swim, play sports, hygiene, health matters, acceptable behavior, etc?  Parents teach their kids the most important things in life, the things that they truly need to succeed in their futures.  Why is it so absurd to think that they actually might be able to teach them how to read and write, how to do math, work on a computer, history, geography, nature and so forth? 

 In rebuttal to the first two misconceptions as well, homeschoolers are some of the hardest working people I know.  It would be a lot less trouble to just put our kids in school and not worry about it.  And 2nd, most homeschoolers I know are extremely involved in outside activities.  Not to the point where it diminishes the family time, but outside involvement and time with friends is rarely an issue that needs attention. 

The second big problem I have with this show is that they always portray the SAHM as some sort of slave that needs freeing.  I know that sometimes as wives and mothers we need a break and we need to have some interests of our own, but what is wrong with enjoying just taking care of your family?  On TV, they seem to portray it as a negative thing like we are forced to just be “barefoot and pregnant” washer women.  I happen to consider it an extremely high-calling to be the keeper of the home and I take great pride in my work as a wife and mother.  I think it is a learned craft to be able to successfully run a home, and have it run smoothly and efficiently, and it is an extremely fulfilling and rewarding occupation too.

I know with all of these negatives, you are probably wondering why I even bother to watch this show.  Well, it really is an interesting show, but also I do enjoy having my feathers ruffled sometime, it gives me material for my blog 😛 .  Has anyone seen my soap-box!?! 😉

Comments
  1. that show frustrates me as well. I truly believe that they are trying to make homeschoolers seem like lazy bums.

    my children are more active than others in public school, have higher reading levels, and most importantly are able to talk about the Lord all they want. *grins*

    I hate that society is getting this peek into the world of homeschooling & it’s such an ugly pic, and not the sum of it all. So sad, many won’t “get” that.

  2. Renae says:

    I haven’t watched TV since I started blogging. 🙂 But I did see that show a couple of times when it started and couldn’t help but wonder where they found all those people.

    I would never put my family through that. It must be so hard on the kids.

  3. JoAnn says:

    I’ve noticed the same thing about Wife Swap.

    Occasionally, you’ll see a homeschool family on one of the nanny shows, as well. Unfortunately, those shows always show the family out of control and the kids running the house. I suspect many watch Nanny 911 or Super Nanny portraying homeschoolers and see it as a way to confirm their suspicions about us homeschoolers but, of course, fail to to notice that the public school families on the show are just as bad.

  4. Margaret says:

    I have never seen that show. Don’t think I would like it much. 🙂

    Hey, I tagged you, come over to see. No obligation of course. 🙂

  5. I’ve heard that those shows edit the video to make the families look worse than they are….that’s how they get viewers is through drama, even if it’s fake.

    Last August we moved and now we only get one channel, which we never watch. It’s just dvd’s for us. I can’t say I miss network television, except for a few things on PBS.

  6. Christina says:

    Man… Let me get on the soap box with ya! I am not a geek, I do ot lay on the couch eating bon-bons all day (I don’t even know what those are)… I work, I clean, I teach, I cook… AH!
    Thanks for sharing! So glad that I stopped by!

Leave a Reply

