Memories of Fireworks Past

Posted: July 6, 2008 in friendship, musings, travelings, Uncategorized
Tags: , , ,

Hello Friends!  I hope everyone had a nice long weekend.  I love it when there is a holiday on Friday or Monday.  It seems like you have so many days off.  I know it just adds one extra day to the weekend, but it always seems like more to me.

We had a pleasant time, pretty uneventful, but nice.  We had a small family thing on Friday at my in-laws and then had some friends over on Saturday for grilling, swimming, homemade ice-cream.  I so enjoy just getting a few families together and just “hanging out”.  We really have some great families in our life to socialize with.  

We live very close to a “celebrity” that has his own fireworks show on the 4th, so we were able to watch his big display on Friday night from our bedroom window and we also live across the street from a park that shoots their fireworks off on the 5th, so we were able to watch them from the front porch on Saturday night. 

I like fireworks, but since we practically lived at Disney for a year, and saw their indescribable fireworks a multitude of times, it kinda puts all other fireworks in a whole different league.  Nothing can compare to the nightly fireworks, “Wishes”, that Disney puts on behind the castle. 

We also were at Mount Rushmore one year at night and they shot fireworks off above the giant carvings, and that was truly spectacular.  It was one of those moments where you hope you can somehow manage to never forget the emotions that come welling up inside you.

Don’t you just love it when you are experiencing something and you know that it will turn into one of the memories that you just look back on in the many years to come with such nostalgia.  That sounds kinda lame, I know, but I love “making memories”.  I guess it is because you can take them with you anywhere you go.  No matter where you are or what you are doing, you can find a moment of solace and quiet contentment just from bringing back a memory of good times past.  Man, I sound like a sap.  Oh well, what can you do!?!

Thanks for stopping by 😎

Comments
  1. Kerri says:

    I find that I am particularly sappy for anything patriotic. We did not get to see any fireworks this year, but we are hoping to go to Disney in January and are looking forward to seeing their fireworks again. The younger kids have never been, so it will be fun to see their reactions. I think it might be one of those memory making times you’re writing about 🙂

  2. JoAnn says:

    I grew up living 1 mile from Disneyland. We lived there for about 9 years. My summer bedtime was always “when the fireworks were done” as I headed out to the alley with all of the other neighborhood kids to watch Disneyland’s fireworks.

Leave a Reply

