Reality TV (Isn’t that an oxymoron?)

Posted: July 9, 2008 in randomness
Tags: , , ,

I wouldn’t call myself a “big” fan of reality shows, but I do find them to be a bit more interesting than a lot of stuff that these TV writers can come up with.  The problem is, the more reality TV shows I see, the more I question just how “real” they actually are.

Some of these game shows that they have been putting out there lately, completely annoy me.  I don’t even watch them, I just see the commercials and that is enough for me to realize how “unreal” they really are.  Unless they just happen to find the most charismatic people on the face of the earth, I highly doubt that any of it is in reality, reality. 

 That show, Deal or no Deal, is one example.  All of the contestants on that show are so, I don’t even know the word for it, I guess “out there” would be a good term.  I don’t see how it could be real.  They have to have been coached so much to make them actually react they way they do.  And another one is that newer show, I can’t think of the name of it, but you know, that one where you sit in a chair and they asked you all those “truth” questions.  Moment of Truth, that is it.  Either that show is not real or they have found some of the stupidest people on the face of the earth to compete.  Who in their right mind would agree to such torture?  It appears that they are willing to totally flush their whole life down the drain in order to try to win a certain amount of money.  Who would actually do that?!?  Maybe the world does have a lot of people that are crazier than I give them credit for 😛 .

We do happen to watch Survivor.  As a matter of fact, it is our favorite show.  We have watched it from the beginning and have followed each season so far.  It does appear to be completely spontaneous, but I’m sure it really isn’t.  We saw a special one time that showed how many takes they actually do in order to get some of the scenes just right for camera.  I am willing to put that aside and just enjoy the show though.  It may not actually be completely “reality” but it comes across as pretty close. 

I have been noticing that I have written frequently about TV lately.  It may seem that I watch a lot of TV, but in reality, that is not the case.  We usually turn it on at night once the kids are in bed and we flip channels and try to find something worth watching.  This time of year seems to be especially bad for TV, but every once in a while we do find something worthwhile.  The Braves are on pretty much every night, so that is my DH’s pick, and I am starting to get to learn some of the players, even though I totally hate professional baseball.  He will occasionally watch Hallmark with me, so I feel it is my duty to try to enjoy his baseball as well. 😉

Well, that is about it.  I guess maybe I have turned to “TV talk” to try to get the ole’ brain working again.  Maybe soon the cobwebs will clear out and the brain will be totally unclogged(I think I just mixed a metaphor?!?).

Thanks for stopping by 😎

 

Comments
  1. Cindy says:

    Aack! I sent my son downstairs last night to get the tv ready for America’s Got Talent. I only allow the kids to watch it with me since there are so many moments that need to be paused on the DVR, if you know what I mean.

    Anyway, he ended up turning on Moment of Truth and watching it for about five minutes before I realized what he was doing!! He’s only 8 and I’m hoping that whatever awful things he saw or heard will just float on out of his memory forever.

  2. Zawi says:

    Googled for Life As I See It which happens to be the name of my own blogsite and I am so happy to find so many other sites with many other sites with minor variations to it. Lets flock together.
    Cheers.

Leave a Reply

