Geographical Profiling

Posted: July 14, 2008 in randomness
Tags: , ,

Is it permissible to profile people based on geography!?!

I have been working on the lesson plans for my daughter’s Geography course next year, and I started thinking about how where you live, determines so much about who you are.

Having always lived in the south, I have a pretty good idea of what us southerners are like.  We are probably thought by some to be a little slow, a little behind in the grand scheme of things.  But in reality, we are usually very down to earth people who take things in stride.  That is unless you cross us on something that we feel very passionate about.  Then LOOK OUT!!!!! 

Now Yankees, is that politically correct, do northerners mind be called Yankees?!?  Well, until I find out, I will refer to them as Northerners, and by Northerners, I mean anyone living north of the Mason-Dixon line(where actually is the Mason Dixon Line? I have no idea)  Northerners are a different story.  They give the impression that they love a good fight and will gladly debate you on any issue at any time.  The Northerners I know are a bit loud and can, on occassion, come accross as a bit rude.  I’m sure this is not a flaw in their character at all, it is just the way that they perceive things.  We have some New Yorkers in our extended family, and my girls love it when we have big events that include them.  They think they are awesome.  They are quite unique and very interesting to observe.  Northerners can definitely get things done and they are usually go-getters and will succeed at any cost.

Now, Mid-Westerners, I really have no clue about them.  They are a true mystery.  Are they just a culmination of south and north or are they totally different?  I’m not really sure.

Californians and Floridians seem to be extremely diverse.  I once heard someone say that these two states are just melting pots, so they have no true profile of their own.  I’m sure native Californians and Floridians would disagree.  My best friend lives in Northern California and has her whole life, and my husband has family in Central/Southern California and both these families are as different as night and day.  I think California is definitely the most diverse region and can’t really be pegged as a certain type of people.

I am proud to be a Southerner.  I like the way we think and I like how we see life.  Sometime our southern slang makes teaching phonics a little difficult though.  We southerners do tend to make up our own language sometime 😉 .  I have told my girls that no matter where life takes them and no matter what state or even country they might live in, there are certain “southern heritages” that they simply can never lose:

1.  We southerners are never “about” to do anything, we are “fixin’ to”.

2.  At the grocery store, we push a “buggy”, not a cart.

3.  We NEVER say “you guys”, we say “ya’ll”.

4.  Southerners do not “carry”, we “tote”.

5.  We aren’t “related”, we are “kin”.

6.  And last, but not least, “boiled peanuts” are modern day manna from God.

Comments
  1. As a lifelong Midwesterner, I don’t know what to tell you about us except that we differ even from state to state. I spent my life in IL until last year when we moved to WI, and I see big differences in the people north of the “cheddar curtain” (as they call the IL-WI state line) compared to those from IL.

    Also, my sister, who has spent the last 20 years in CA, now tells me we talk funny here in the Midwest. So I guess geographical differences are sometimes in the eye of the beholder 🙂

  2. Kirstin says:

    I love the way southerners talk. I grew up for the most part in Ohio (till 4th grade) and when we moved to Washington people thought we had an accent and we said things like “sweep the floor” instead of vacumn, and we used a “sweeper”, not a “vacum”. We said you’s guys instead of you guys, and my mom said davenport instead of couch.
    How funny the differences in our different areas. Personally I think we’re pretty boring in our “dialect” hee hee, here in the northwest. I’d much rather have a southern accent, or one from well, anywhere else in the US

Leave a Reply

