Sometimes the “high road” leads to destruction

Posted: July 25, 2008 in musings
Tags: , ,

I don’t often write about things that are of a personal nature, but I have had something on my heart and I feel that I must voice it before it drives me crazy.

We have recently come across a problem in my husband’s employment.  He has been asked to do something that probably isn’t illegal, but dishonest at best.  This sort of thing happened one other time in our life.  He was in an unsavoury business situation and knew that he needed to get out of it.  It was very personal and the exit from the business caused a great deal of pain.  This isn’t quite at that magnitude, but it is still upsetting none-the-less.  My husband is a man of extremely high character and has a very keen sense of honesty and goes by his values above everything.  He has, over the years, proven to be a man of his word and everyone that knows him would say that his character and reputation are above reproach. 

This instance that he is now facing is so very frustrating.  He, of course, refused to do what was being asked of him, and like the previous situation, his decision has left him without a job.  Meanwhile, the other parties seem to be succeeding and prosperity is in their corner. 

When I look at instances like these, it disturbs my faith I must admit.  I am at a point where it is very frustrating and I truly don’t understand sometime how seemingly “bad” people can prosper and those that are trying to live by standards keep getting knocked down.  I know the whole “reap what you sow” thing is true because the Bible says it is, but at times like this, my faith can get a bit shaken.  I feel bad admitting that, but, hey, we are all “friends” here so I want to be honest and just put it out there.

I am sure that I am not alone in this pit of despair, and many, many more have gone through similar situations where you have to wonder what God is doing or even where God is.

I don’t write this seeking words of wisdom or even encouragement, I just write it to simply get it off my heart and hopefully bring some form of release.

Thanks for stopping by 😎

Comments
  1. So sorry to hear about your husband’s job troubles. You’re fortunate to be married to an honest, God-fearing man, but that doesn’t mean this isn’t a frustrating situation.

    It does seem at times that the dishonest profit despite their behavior. Reminds me of part of Psalm 17:14: “men of this world whose reward is in this life.”

    That’s what we have to remember, especially when our faith is shaken: dishonesty may produce temporary earthly gains, but we’re aiming for an eternal reward.

    Hang in there…..better days will come.

  2. Kirstin says:

    Be blessed and encouraged and strengthened. And Lord bring an even better job around! I declare favor on his behalf for being a man of integrity!

Leave a Reply

