The Little Bird with the Big Ego

Posted: July 30, 2008 in randomness, Uncategorized
Tags:

For many years I have had a fascination with hummingbirds.  I just love to sit and observe them.  A few years ago we were traveling in Utah and the attraction that we were at, had nothing to do with hummingbirds, but there was a big flower bed outside and there were many, many hummingbirds flitting around in the flowers.  It was an amazing sight.  I think we spent longer just watching the hummingbirds than we did looking at the actual attraction.

Over the weekend, my husband and I were sitting outside on my parents’ porch and we noticed that my dad had a couple of empty hummingbird feeders hanging up.  We filled them with sugar water and before long, the small creatures arrived.

That was a few days ago, and since then we have spent a lot of time out there observing these incredible birds’ activities.  There is one hummingbird that is smaller than all the rest, yet he seems to “rule the roost”, or at least he thinks he does.  He patrols the area from a nearby bush and if another hummingbird even acts like he is going to stop for a drink, he swoops down and runs him off.  This may not be news to all of you ornithologists out there, but I never knew that hummingbirds made so much noise.  Of course, I have heard the flapping of their little wings that sound like a small plane, but this little guy actually makes a high screeching sound.  He doesn’t even like the fact that my husband and I are anywhere in the vicinity of his food.  He swoops down at our heads and will even get a few feet away from us and start his screeching like he is trying to run us off. 

Now, I’m not sure what this little guy’s story is.  He may have developed a complex over the years because of his small size, or he may just be trying to prove how tough he is, but he definitely has a chip on his shoulders(do birds have shoulders?!?)   He has found his source of nourishment and he is not going to let anyone mess with this good thing that he has going. 

Meanwhile, I am just loving every moment of this extreme interaction that I am able to have with these magnificent little creatures that I enjoy so very much.  God is so good, isn’t He?  I know that He knew that maybe I needed a little “pick me up” and He chose this small incident to give me just a little example of His great love and care for me.

Comments
  1. You are so right when you say that hummingbirds can provide the perfect “pick me up” whenever we need it. Hummingbirds always make me smile because they are so beautiful but mostly because they remind me of my mom. She passed way in 2006 but whenever I see a hummingbird it seems as she is still with me. Thanks mom for passing along your love of these amazing birds to me!

  2. Wow, what kind of camera do you have? Those are GREAT pictures. Tony put up a hummingbird feeder for me this summer too and I just love watching them. A couple of ours will even buzz your head though and that is SO not cool! ha!

Leave a Reply

