hi-ho, hi-ho, it’s off to school we go

Posted: August 4, 2008 in homeschooling
Tags: ,

Well, school days have arrived. We started back to school a few weeks ago and so far, all I can say is, “I am ready for a day off.” Is this a bad omen?!? Just kidding(kinda) πŸ˜‰ I do think the hardest times for schooling are the first few weeks and the last few weeks. The end of the school year goes without saying that it is always rough. You are tired and you just want to move on to summer and everybody is ready for just some “down time”. But the beginning is usually pretty rough too.

The first few weeks you are trying to get back into a routine and trying to get everybody on board with the new schedules, new curriculum, earlier bed times and getting up times, etc. I think we are going to have a really good year this year though. I am anxiously excited about my curriculum of choice for this year. We went with a lot of different things and I think hope it will all go over well with my girls too. So far, they seem to be please.

I thought I would give you a quick break down of some of the things we are using this year. I know I always enjoy seeing what others are using, so I thought I would pass along the info.

12th Grader: BJU Latin, Apologia The Human Body, Aleks PreCalculus, Stobaugh British Lit., CLP Government, Economics “What Ever Happened to Penny Candy?”, Logic “The Fallacy Detective”, Art Appreciation “Discovering Great Artists”

10th Grader: BJU Grammar, Writing “The One Year Adventure Novel”, ABeka World History, CLP Biology, Aleks Algebra 2, Stobaugh SAT Prep, Rosetta Stone Spanish 2, Total Health

6th Grader: English “All in One English”, Reading “Teach for Mastery”, Geography Through Art, Apologia Zoology 3, Horizons Math, The Write Stuff, Type to Learn

We are implementing Notebooking into out school this year and we are enjoying this change in “strategy”. It seems to make our days more relaxed and the girls like having that break from just books and worksheets or tests.

I found a little organizational gem recently. I LOVE organizing and having things around me that help me be organized. We had several milk crates that we had used for various things before, but I put in hanging folders and file folders, and it has helped me to keep everything readily accessible.

We got our book shelves out of storage and turned our bedroom/living-room into a school room too. The book cases help tremendously for the girls books and all my odds and ends school stuff.

Up until the last year or so, we have always had a big school room with all our tables and shelves and wall hangings and everything else “schoolish”, but now we have a lot less room, so we have had to compact everything. It does help though for the girls to each have a shelf for just their things and then several others for everything else.

Yep, I think this year is definitely lookin’ up. Since it is the last one for my oldest, sniff sniff 😦 , I am hoping to make it the best ever. At least I am starting with the best intentions. Shouldn’t that count for something?!? πŸ˜›

Comments
  1. Margaret says:

    It always feels good to get started, doesn’t it? πŸ™‚

  2. Renae says:

    Look at you! (or rather your bookcases) πŸ˜€ So organized and ready for another year of learning.

    I agree about starting being hard. We are still finding our rhythm.

  3. Cindy says:

    I love to organize, too. You look *very* organized this year!! :o)

Leave a Reply

