Keepin’ it real

Posted: August 14, 2008 in book reviews, homeschooling, other blog links
Tags:

Hello Friends 🙂

I love to read blogs, articles, books, magazines etc. on homeschooling.  We have been homeschooling forever, but I am still always looking to find out about anything new that is out there, or get insights on how to better my schooling, or read encouraging homeschool success stories.  But, to be quite honest, alot of the stuff I read does the opposite for me.

I would love to tell you that my kids get up at the crack of dawn and start their lessons anxiously, are through by lunch and then we are off to our many music or drama classes, and that they have aced her SAT/ACT and have gotten full rides to an ivey league school at the age of 15.  But……… “Ain’t happening!”

We are just the average family who is trying to live for God, pay the bills, give our kids a loving environment in which to thrive, and provide the best training/education that we possibly can.  All the while keeping up with all the craziness that life brings about.

Those are the kinds of stories and books that I want to read.  “Real” people, like me that are just trying to hold it all together.  Why are we so slow to admit that we don’t really have a clue, that we are just trying to do our best and follow through with what God has called us to do.  Sometimes it is great, but other times…..not so great.

Which leads me to my point.  I recently read a book by my bf(blog friend), Barb.  It is entitled, The Imperfect Homeschooler’s Guide to Homeschooling.  It is probably one of the most encouraging books on homeschooling that I have read.  It “keeps it real”.  I finished the book and thought, “Maybe I am doing an okay job after all, there actually are people like me out there that don’t always have it all together, and struggle with just trying to get it all done.”

Now, don’t get me wrong, I am sure that Barb is an incredible homeschooling mom.  She has written homeschool curriculum and she has already graduated two kids and has two more at home, but she didn’t make be feel inadequate the whole time I was reading her book.  That is perfect to me.  That is just what I need.  Thanks Barb!

Comments
  1. deldobuss says:

    Amen sister!! Pretending to have it all together doesn’t make it so!!!

    In no way shape or form am I a supermom, but I occasionally get it “right” and for that I am humbly thankful to the Almighty, not myself!!

    Glad to here there are honest families that are willing to be transparent about their shortcomings, misgivings, and foibles. Perfect is boring anyway, real life is so much more exciting!!

    http://www.deldobuss.wordpress.com

  2. Kirstin says:

    That is so good. I often read blogs and think “I’m so failing at homeschooling..my kids are going to be bored to death”…etc.. because I read about all the amazing things people do and places they go and projects, and experiments, and field trips. And I think…I can usually barely pay for curriculum let alone all these other things.

    I’m not super mom. My kids would rather watch Little House on the Prairie while they eat their breakfast, and take forever to finish school. We don’t take a myriad of extra classes and we certainly don’t travel to many states for many competitions. Maybe I would if I could or if that was what we felt strongly in. But I’m just a normal mom, uneventfully teaching my girls at home so I can raise them up to be amazing “Kingdom” girls who know who they are in Christ and can go out and change the world.

  3. mrs darling says:

    I have to say that Im a pretty rigid and organized homeschooler but I suspect thats due in part to my years of teaching in a school setting. Still we do have our days. Is this book available on Amazon or how did you get ahold of it?

  4. brumbemom says:

    If you click on the highlighted link in my post, it will take you to the Amazon site for ordering.
    Thanks for the comments!

  5. I can totally relate! I suspect that most of us are “real homeschoolers” but we all think everyone else must be doing a perfect job.

  6. Kirstin says:

    Oh, that was an encouraging post. I’m like you in that I just want to teach my kids. I suppose I could be shooting for einsteins, but they’re just two amazing girls doing their school at home, and it ain’t always exciting (C: We don’t travel to this contest, and that conference and I fail miserable at crafts and field trips. But they still want to homeschool so I must be doing something right.

Leave a Reply

