Amazing Florida Gator

Posted: September 20, 2008 in randomness
Tags: , ,

No, this is not a post about the University of Florida Gator’s amazing, Heisman-winning quarterback Tim Tebow. 

 This is about a much bigger Gator.  A 12 feet, 500 lb. gator to be exact.  The story begins last night about 10:30pm.  The girls were already in their rooms and I was downstairs watching TV.  My husband came down the stairs and said he was going outside to see what all the lights were about.  He came running back in a few seconds and called up to the girls to come down quickly.  We went outside and to our shock there were police cars everywhere and people standing everywhere.  A huge alligator had wandered into the neighborhood and everyone was just standing around looking at it.  The police quickly roped off an area around where the gator was laying with caution tape and we all just waited to see what would happen.  It was about 30 yards from our front door, but we were all standing within 30 or 40 feet of it.  It was a little exciting, but alot scary.  It was so huge, almost like something you see on tv, but never in your own neighborhood.  After about an hour or so, a trapper man came and shot it in the head three times until it was dead.  He used this 5-foot silver pole gun thing, that he just pushed up to the gator head and then it would fire.  It was an incredible sight to watch the whole thing unfold.  He measured it after it was dead and said it was 12 feet long and he estimated about 500 pounds.  It took three men and this wench type thing to get it into the back of the trapper truck.  I was surprised that they killed it so quickly, but the police said that they usually kill any gators that are found in residential areas if they are over 4 feet in length. 

We are renting a townhome right now and there are several “ponds” around the complex, and they all have signs that say “Beware of Alligators”.  So, needless to say, I will be ALOT more careful now when I am sitting on the patio and letting the dog run around.  I walk outside now and immediately start looking around making sure there aren’t any more gator monsters lurking just around the corner. 

I am a big “Florida Gator” fan, but this is not exactly what I had in mind 😎 .

*speaking of Florida Gators, Hey “G”, did you happen to catch that game today between TN & FL 😉

Comments
  1. Macey says:

    I wish the gator man would, get after tim tebow with a pole gun!!

  2. "G" says:

    I can’t believe that you would stoop so low as to taunt someone on your blog. Only a gator fan would do that. lol 😉

  3. Wow that does sound exciting/scary about your backyard gator. As a TN fan (that’s where my husband & I grew up) the FL/TN game today was just plain ol’ painful to watch!

  4. brumbemom says:

    In case I have failed to mention, my children do not share in my admiration for the Gators.
    Mace – you really shouldn’t say those things about your future brother-in-law 😉

  5. brumbemom says:

    I guess I should apologize for my “taunts” about the FL/TN game………I am sorry that the Gators are so good and TN is not.
    See, we Gator Fans can be sympathetic 😉

  6. Oh my goodness! And here I am, complaining about the earwigs and the two-inch-long centipedes in Wisconsin. Wow!

    Thanks for the birthday greetings 🙂

Leave a Reply

