How does God always do it?

Posted: September 29, 2008 in homeschooling
Tags: , , ,

This post is a little out of my comfort zone of writing and I will be surprised if it ever gets published, but here goes anyway. 

I have not mentioned this to anyone, but lately, I have been really struggling in the area of homeschooling.  What I mean is, in the area of feeling capable of homeschooling.  I guess you might call it the “10 year itch” or maybe it’s because my oldest will be graduating and trying to get into college, and her future is pretty much reliant upon how well I have done my job over the past 10 years or actually 18 years.  Sometimes I think that although I may talk a good talk, I really have no clue what I am doing.  We have chosen to homeschool very traditionally or non-traditionally, depending on how you look at it.  We have not done alot of outside classes, nor have we entered into an umbrella school, nor have we hired someone to give us accreditation.  It is just us, trying to learn what we can in the best way that we know how.

I guess lately, I have questioned my abilities more than ever.  I had gotten to the point where I wasn’t even sure that I could do it anymore.  Maybe we should just look for some type of umbrella school or something that would give our little “homeschool” some type of merit. 

Well, recently at church, the pastor spoke from Revelations 3, about the church at Philadelphia.  He spoke about how God has opened the “door” of blessing on the little church.  He brought out that when God opens a door, no one can shut it until God shuts it.  I loved the part of verse 8 where He commended them for their little strength.  The pastor brought out how the reason they were commended for having little strength is because it showed how they were not doing it in their own strength that is was all God!  I needed to hear that so much.  He challenged everyone to take a leap of faith and walk through the “door” that God had called them to enter and not be afraid.  That even though we don’t know what is on the other side, God is, and that is really all we need.

It seems like each time I am going through some type of personal struggle, God always knows exactly what to give me.  How does He do that?!?

So now, I am looking into my homeschool endeavors with a new perspective that even though I still don’t really know what I am doing, I have walked through the door that God told me to go through, and anything past that is all in His hands.  And for some reason, I feel quite at peace with that.  I think He is probably capable of making it all work out, dont’ you?!?

Comments
  1. This was an encouraging post! I can totally relate. I have 3 more years until my oldest graduates, but it seems like we’ve been at this a very long time… and I often wonder if I’m doing enough… or doing it right.

  2. A wonderful, honest post. I remember thinking the same things with my eldest. Now, with two done and another almost finished homeschooling, I’ve decided that what they’ve become has more to do with them and God than with me. However, no matter how they turned out, I’m glad I answered God’s call to homeschool them, because obedience is its own reward.

    And yes, God gives me what I need when I need it too, and I can’t figure out how He does it either 🙂

  3. joycomesinthemorning says:

    SIS, THIS IS A GOOD BLOG. TO DOUBT YOURSELF IS SO DESTRUCTIVE. THAT IS WHAT I DO ALL THE TIME. THAT’S IS PROBABLY WHY I HAVEN’T WRITTEN THAT BOOK THAT I SO WANT TO WRITE. I HAVE SO MUCH IN MY BRAIN THAT I WANT TO TELL, AND I KNOW I MUST DO IT SOON OR IT WILL BE GONE.

    YOU HAVE BEEN THE MOST DEDICATED MOTHER I KNOW. WE ARE SO PROUD OF YOU. THE GIRLS HAVE DOON SO GOOD IN SCHOOL. IT IS A THRILL TO SEE GOD WORKING. HE DOES WANT OUR BEST, BUT WE MUST REMEMBER HE HAS A PLAN ALREADY IN THE MAKING. WE CAN’T SEE IT NOW, BUT SOAK UP THE JOY OF KNOWING YOU HAVE DONE YOUR BEST. THAT IS ALL HE ASK OF US.

    I LOVE YOUR WRITING. WONDER IF YOU HAVE A LITTLE OF GENES TO GET YOU THERE.

    JOY

Leave a Reply

