The Mommy Assessment

Posted: October 25, 2008 in family stuff, homeschooling
Tags: ,

My oldest DD is taking the ACT today.  This is her second time to take the test and even though she did really well on the first try, we thought it would be beneficial to take it again.  You know all the “experts” say to take the test 2 or 3 times to maximize your scoring potential.  Her best friend took it a few weeks ago and he has already gotten his scores back.  He tends to be a brainiac who can do 10 step math problems in his head, so she is usually content to be within a couple of points of him.  But I think his exceptional scores do give her a bit of “encouragement” to see just how much she can raise her score.

I get so nervous about these tests.  I tend to look at it as much of a reflection on me as it is on her ability.  I always think these tests show how well I have done my job of teaching over all these years.  I know that sounds a bit self-absorbed, but I just can’t help it.  I guess I sometimes need some evidence of a job well done.  I know it is stupid and that these tests are merely a way for colleges to some how judge the potential of possible students.  I don’t like that so much emphasis is put on tests, but that is how it is in our society and we have to play by their rules once we turn over the mantle of schooling to them.

I just had a thought, I titled this post “mommy” assessment not “teacher” assessment.  So I guess I should be thinking more about how good a “Mommy” I have been over the years than “teacher”.  I like that role much better anyway.  Sometimes, and I hope I am not alone, I wish we could just throw all this “schooling” out the window and just enjoy being together.  Hanging out, taking walks, reading books together, cooking new recipes, playing games, etc.  It is a shame sometime that after we have finished all the required work for the day, there is little time or energy for all those really important things that, let’s face it, will probably be more useful in the future than the subjects that we put all the emphasis on during “school hours”. 

I have always shunned the “unschoolers” thinking that they really just don’t want to actually have to teach their kids anything, but as I look back, I catch myself missing all those times that have been wasted in worksheets, textbooks, tests, etc.  I think at this stage in my life, I am longing for something simpler.  Something that you feel good about at the end of the day.  Evenings where when you go to bed and you look back on your day and you know that you have relished every moment with these precious gifts that God has so graciously given you charge over for a brief period of time.  Maybe the “unschoolers’ have had the right idea all along. Hmm……..

Does any of this make any sense?!?  I feel as though I am basically rambling on from one thing to another.  That is what happens when I sit down to write without a clear outline in mind.  Things just start coming out and eventually I look back and think where in the world am I going with this.

Well, thanks for stopping by and have a great weekend.  I gotta go get ready for the game.

The Gators play at 12:30——–GO GATORS!!!

Comments
  1. Meg says:

    mom i think “unschooling” is a good idea. We should start that next week. Anyways i think you are doing good as a mommy and a teacher. 🙂

  2. Kirstin says:

    You make a lot of sense! Love your daughters comment (C: I think mine would have the same response. I’m always so afraid they’ll “miss” something that I’m too paranoid to loosen up a bit. When in all reality I don’t use or remember probably 1/2 the stuff I’ve reallyl ever learned.

Leave a Reply

