The Shack

Posted: November 6, 2008 in book reviews
Tags:

Have you ever started reading a book, and you knew from the opening forward, that it was going to have a major effect on you in some way?   You know, one of those books that you simply would not be able to put down.

I recently had that experience.  I love it when I finish a book or even a movie, and I catch myself thinking about it days or even weeks later.  The book or movie changes something about me, or better yet, adds to the person that I am.  It deepens my thoughts about a particular thing or it opens up places of my heart that I like to keep sealed off.  That is what “The Shack” did for me.  I knew it from the first page,  I knew it as I tearfully read the encounters of the characters, and I knew it when I closed the last page and my first thought was, “I can’t wait to read it again.” 

 I understand that there have been some controversies over the content of this book and that some have said that writing such an imaginary encounter with the Trinity is taking things a bit far.  But I think it is important to remember that the book is in fact that, imaginary.  I took it to be more of a “what if?” kind of thing.  What if you were to meet the Trinity in a dilapidated old shack in the woods?   What would you talk about, what would you do, how would they respond to you and you to them?  This book gives and “imaginary” scenario of what conversations and activities might take place.  The overall theme is the miraculous love of God and how a relationship, a true relationship with Him can change your entire core being.  It puts the Trinity on somewhat of a level that we might, even slightly, start to be able to relate to them. 

It gave me a renewed longing to have a true relationship with God, one that exists in every moment, not just when I am at church or listening to a spiritual song.

Shortly after I began the book, I realized that I needed a pen or highlighter or something to mark passages that I would want to remember.  There were so many statements that I found to be so complex, yet so simple.  I will probably end up posting about some of these in the future because they have given me so much to think about, about who God really is and what He actually wants from us. 

If you have not read the book, I would implore you to give it a chance.  Read it with an open mind and not looking for things to criticize.  I don’t believe it should be read as a great work of theology, but as a “what it?”.  There is much that we can take from it and plenty of ideas that I know God would not mind if we tried to implement in our daily lives.

Thanks for stopping by 😎 .

Comments
  1. Teri says:

    Good book! – except the first couple chapters were really sad 😦

Leave a Reply

