Why?!?

Posted: November 10, 2008 in musings
Tags:

I have been thinking a lot about why things happen the way they do.  I wonder sometimes why God does things or allows things to happen the way they do.  Is it a sin to question God?  I know we are to trust Him and we can trust Him, but sometimes my feeble brain thinks that I know the answer and I don’t really see why God can’t just get on board and work things out the way that I know they need to be worked out.

 

Isa 55:8 For my thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways my ways, saith the LORD.

 

I recently heard a quote by Robert Frost that I thought was profound.  “But it was the essence of the trial that you should not understand it.  It has to seem unmeaning to have meaning.”

I took that to mean that when we are going through trials or there are circumstances that we deem as unfair and we just can’t understand why God would allow it, we can mark the “not understanding” up as part of the trial.  If we understood it, and knew why it was happening, then there wouldn’t really be a trial, would there?

I heard a preacher tell of an anecdote between Albert Einstein’s wife and a reporter.  The reporter asked her if she understood the whole E=MC2 thing.  She said, “No, but I know Albert does, and he can be trusted.”  Even though we don’t understand why things happen the way they happen, we know Somebody who does, and He can be trusted! 

I found these thoughts to be very encouraging and I just wanted to share them with you.

Thanks for stopping by. 😎

Comments
  1. joycomesinthemorning says:

    THAT VERSE HAS ALWAYS BEEN MY STAY. I’M GLAD THAT GOD DOES NOT THINK LIKE ME. WHAT A MESS. BUT HE HAS PROVEN TO ME TIME AND TIME AGAIN THAT I CAN TRUST HIM. IT HAS TAKEN A LOT OF EXPERIENCES OF TRIAL, AND YEARS OF AGING, BUT I HAVE LEARNED A LOT ABOUT TRUSTING GOD. WHEN GOD DOESN’T MAKE SENSE, WE HAVE TO TRUST HIM ANY WAY.

    IT SOUNDS LIKE YOU ARE LEARNING FAST WHAT WE ALL HAVE TO LEARN IN ORDER TO HAVE A HAPPY LIFE.

    THANKS FOR SHARING A DEEP THOUGHT. IT HELPED ME TODAY!

    JOY

Leave a Reply

