For the love of money

Posted: November 16, 2008 in movie quotes, musings
Tags: ,

It seems that everything that I have been reading lately is about money.  I was reading the other day in Lamentations 3, and this verse stuck out to me, “The Lord is my inheritance; therefore,  I will hope in Him.”  I was also reminded of the verse that says, “For the love of money is the root of all evil.”  I started thinking about how different our world might be if everything in it did not revolve around money.  If our inheritance is in the Lord and loving money is behind all the evil in the world, then why do we want it so bad?  Why does anything that we have or gain here on earth even matter anyway?  Why do we spend so much energy and stress and anxious moments worrying about trying to save money, and get money?  Is that really how God intends us to live?  I dare say He does not!

I sometimes catch myself longing for simpler days when things were not on such a grand scale monetarily speaking.  If we had never been so conditioned to require so much money to live in our present society or if money was not the foundation for our modern society, what would our world be like?   We have allowed money to be the building block for who and what we are.  Most decisions we make are based on money, how much or have little we have.  I think it has become a stumbling block more than a building block for most people, if not everyone.

What if we lived with the Biblical attitude of caring for others as we do for ourselves.  Phillippians 2:3 says, “Don’t be selfish; don’t live to make a good impression on others. Be humble, thinking of others as better than yourself.”  I know that having money or the lack thereof, can lead to some of our highest highs and also our lowest lows.  Why do we allow money to have so much power over us?  I know that society mandates that we have/make a certain amount of money, but aren’t we responsible for setting up that society, don’t we have to take responsibility for establishing a society that believes that you are defined by your financial standing and therefore can never have enough?………  Does any of this make any sense?  Probably not, but by now you have come to the realization that I tend to ramble on about things that give me cause for pondering.  I don’t really have any answers to these questions and…..

I don’t really want an answer. I just want to send this cosmic question out into the voidSo good night, dear void.(Movie quote, got any takers?!? 🙂 )

Thanks for stopping by 😎 .

Comments
  1. kermooch says:

    It took me all day. I should have guessed. You do know your ‘You’ve Got Mail’. It is full of great lines. We need another romcom like that.

  2. joycomesinthemorning says:

    You are right. money does dominate our thoughts. it does mine, but not for myself. we have to have some to exist. My worry about money is for my kids. it takes so much just to live, but God has promised to provide all our needs according to His riches in Glory by Christ Jesus. I would imagine that is quiet a lot.

    Wanting things has never dominated my life, yet God wanted to bless me. my prayer is God to bless you abundantly.

    Joy

Leave a Reply

