It’s the most wonderful week of the year

Posted: November 24, 2008 in family stuff
Tags: , ,

This is my most favorite week of the whole entire year.  For as long as I can remember, I have looked forward to Thanksgiving week more than any other holiday time.  I’m not exactly sure what the allure is.  I think it is a culmination of a lot of different aspects.

I think a big part of it is that this week kinda officially kicks off the Christmas season and I love everything that goes along with that.  We get all of our decorations out this week and start putting them up.  I have box after box of various Christmas decorations.  I love all my little figurines, wreaths, place mats, and of course the tree and all it’s ornaments.  Although, the tree is my least favorite part, it is still fun to try and get each ornament it just the right place.

I also just adore Christmas movies.  I have stacks and stacks of tapes of movies that I have recorded over the years.  I love it when my children finally allow me to get them out and start playing them. (I try to watch them year round, but they have banned me from watching them until this week)  The spirit that is in all the movies always moves me beyond words.  They are so hopeful and refreshing that it is like getting therapy just by sitting and watching a movie.  I watched my absolute favorite last night, A Season For Miracles.  It is about a young woman who’s world has comletely fallen apart and she has no hope, then a miracle occurs and her life is given new meaning and new hope beyond anything that she could have imagined.  The moral is, “Anything is Possible”. 

I have always been intrigued by the thought that we never know what lies ahead.  We can think that we are in an impossible situation and that there is just no way we will ever recover, but little do we know what lies just around the bend. 

Hope!  That is what this time of year can offer to everyone.  No matter what our situation, these next few weeks lead up to the best, most spectacular, selfless event ever in the history of the world.  That is what gives us the Hope that we can feel inside everyday of the year.

I am so thankful that God, in His all-knowing, all-loving way, chose to give us that Hope!  We would truly be lost without it.

Comments
  1. Rick Boyer says:

    I discovered your homepage by coincidence.
    Very interesting posts and well written.
    I will put your site on my blogroll.
    🙂

  2. Hey, you have a great blog here! I’m definitely going to bookmark you!

    Christmas movies a great but sadly it can`t be christmas the whole year

    I have a site called nzbtube.net a nzb movie/serie site with trailers. It pretty much covers all nzb movie stuff.

    Here you can also find christmas movies for download.

    Come and check it out if you get time 🙂

Leave a Reply

