Twilight done. Now for the holidays

Posted: November 25, 2008 in book reviews, family stuff
Tags: , , ,

I made the mistake of starting a book over the weekend, and I simply could not get myself going into the holiday activities until it was finished.  I went with my girls to see the movie, “Twilight“, last Friday.  My oldest daughter had read all four books in the series, but I had not read any.  My girls always say, “Never judge a book by it’s movie”, so I knew I had to read the book.  The only word I can think of using to describe it is, “mesmerizing.”  I got so caught up in the story line that I could not stop.  The author, Stephenie Meyer, definitely has a talent for imaginative detail.  Her story was totally addicting.  The story may not be filled with life changing philosophies and it may not become a great profound work of literature, but as far as entertainment goes, I thought it was first rate.  It was much better than the movie, although the movie was very intriguing as well.

Anyway, now that the book is finished, I am getting myself geared up for the eminent holiday.  I have bought my turkeys and the necessary items for all the trimmings.  I have never prepared an entire Thanksgiving dinner on my own before, but since we are living 500 miles from any family or friends, it is all up to me this year.  I had my girls put together the menu they wanted and I bought all the ingredients for our feast.

Our menu consists of:  2 turkey breast(one regular white turkey and one smoked turkey-I like the pink turkey), dressing (my mother’s recipe), sweet potato souffle, mac and cheese, green beans with potatoes, deviled eggs, cranberry sauce, and rolls.  For dessert we chose pumpkin pie and apple pie.  My mouth is watering as I type this in anticipation of the deliciousness of it all.  I am being optimistic that I am actually able to pull it all off.

My DH has to work on Thursday, so we are having our meal that evening.  It is our tradition to go Thanksgiving night to see the newest movie that Disney has out, but this year it is “Bolt” and my girls refuse to go see that movie (Miley Cyrus is the voice of one of the characters and they have a ban on anything Miley).  So instead of our usual movie night, we have decided to use that night to put our tree up. 

The girls and I will probably go out for the big “day after Thanksgiving shopping spree”.  Although it involves two of my least favorite activites, getting up early and shopping.  They seem to think that it is a tradition and we simply can not skip it.  Oh well, I guess we all have to make sacrifices for our children.

Thanks for stopping by. 😎

Comments
  1. sahar009 says:

    Small question for you as a mother. I also read Twilight (I also reviewed it!), as did my 16 year old sister. We both liked it – Ok, fine, I liked it, my sister ADORED it. However I find that the story created this unattainable, impossible, unrealistic perception of love and relationships for my sister. How was your experience with your girls?
    _____________________

    http://saharsblog.wordpress.com

  2. Macey says:

    You failed to mention, that I have read Twilight too?? what’s up with that?!
    (and you’re still not getting New Moon until I’m done!) 🙂

    but you got the whole Miley thing correct. Everything Miley is banned!! GO MOM!!!

Leave a Reply

