The best benefit of being rich

Posted: December 1, 2008 in chele's kitchen, family stuff, randomness
Tags: , , ,

We have never been what society would call wealthy.  Like most of you, we have had periods in our life where we were at different financial levels.  We have had times where we had extra money and we were able to do and buy pretty much whatever we wanted, within reason.  But, on the other hand, we have been in droughts where we were struggling from week to week to pay the bills and to try and make each paycheck last until the next.

During each of the periods, it seemed that we basically spent whatever we made. If we made a lot, it took that much to live, and if we made a little, we were able to live on that much.

I have never really had the desire to be rich.  I don’t really want to be able to afford a big expensive house(I wouldn’t mind a nice RV, but that’s another story), I don’t want luxury cars(I have driven a Dodge Durango for the past 11 years and I love it), I don’t care for designer clothes(If it doesn’t come from Kohls, I don’t wear it), and jewelry it not something that I am in to(wedding ring, watch, occasionally earrings is about the extent of my jewelry wearing).  I think you get what I am saying.

But, if I could choose to be rich, it would be because of one major benefit.  Let me explain.

I love to cook, I enjoy being in the kitchen, I love reading recipes, I love watching cooking shows, I enjoy trying new dishes, I love spending time on the kitchen isle in the store, a perfect gift to me is new kitchen gadgets.  I just love the whole idea of preparing meals for my family and seeing their reactions as they try new dishes and gobble down old favorites.

I may be among the few that actually enjoys grocery shopping.  I tend to take a long time as I carefully stroll down each isle examining the different items and trying to read different labels and just seeing what all there is out there to enjoy and discover.

Well, now that I have said all of that…….the major benefit of being rich, to me, would be ……having the means to not have to go grocery shopping at Walmart!!!!

I hate Walmart!! Or at least their grocery section.  My husband and I were looking for a particular brand of flour the other day(White Lily, it makes the best biscuits) and Walmart doesn’t carry it.  We went in Publix, and oh my, it was like stepping into the Promise Land flowing with milk and honey.  It was soooo nice.  It was clean, the shelves were neatly organized, their deli section was so full, the bakery smelled so good, the employees were friendly and seemed knowledgeable.  I thought, “What a treat it would be to be able to shop here all the time.”  Unfortunately, their prices are outrageous on a lot of things, at least compared to Walmart. 

So, until I become independently wealthy, I guess my grocery shopping will have to consist of, pushing my way through the crowded isles of Walmart, forgetting about even trying to ask for help finding anything, finally getting to the correct shelf only to realize that it is empty, sorting through produce after produce trying to find something that looks half-way decent.  But, in the end, the receipt is something that my budget can handle(most of the time) and the pantry ends up full and we can rest in the fact that there will be food on the table for another few weeks.

If you are reading this and happen to work at Walmart, please don’t take it personal, I know there are some exceptions and there actually are some nice Walmarts.  It is just that in my “fantasy world” Publix would be the grocery store for me and I would be rich enough to shop there.

Thanks for stopping by 😎

Comments
  1. Kerri says:

    I also love Publix and would love to be able to shop there for all my groceries. We have a new Publix opening near us any day. I’m excited because they have a wonderful bakery and I won’t have to drive miles & miles to get there for special occasions. Bill also loves their subs – I have to say I agree. Fun post!

  2. I wonder, if you were rich, whether you would still freak out at the grand total at the Publix checkout counter…I would!

    Do you have an Aldi near you? I’m an Aldi fan. It’s plainer than Wal-Mart, but the prices are great and it’s very easy to get in and out. I almost never go to Wal-Mart.

  3. Kirstin says:

    Hee hee, ha ha. love this post. I’d love to be wealthy for lots of reasons, but one would be because I could go to the grocery store, whichever one I wanted and buy whatever I wanted. And cook and bake whatever I wanted. Oh, YAH!!!

Leave a Reply

