Random act of crime

Posted: December 10, 2008 in randomness
Tags: ,

Needless to say, it was a scary feeling to come out of church Sunday and find that the window on my car had been smashed out.

We were, seemingly, the only victim.  I’m not sure why they were drawn to my car, but they were.  The only thing stolen was a small change purse that I kept beside the driver seat that contained about $12 that I use for toll money.

Since this incident, I have felt myself being filled with fear.  Not necessarily fear of crime, but just fearful of, well life.  Fear of …..(I remember from college hearing one of my Bible teachers say that the devil can’t know our specific weaknesses unless we verbalize them in some way.  So I will not list specific fears to give him any more ammunition to work with.  I don’t know if that is entirely accurate, but just in case….HA – take that!)

Anyway, I am not a person who normally succombs to emotions and fears, but, thankfully God does know my thoughts and fears and He wants to use them to help me, not hurt me.  I woke up early this morning and went downstairs to spend some time reading.  I wasn’t sure where to read, I just knew I needed to spend some time with my loving Father.  As I opened my Bible, I started just turning to various verses that I had underlined at some time in the past and those words were like water to a thirsty soul.

IJohn 4:16  “And so we know and rely on the love God has for us.  God is love.”

2Timothy 4:17 “But the Lord stood at my side and gave me strength……..And I was delivered from the lion’s mouth.”

Philippians 3:7 “……..I consider everything a loss compared to the surpassing greatness of knowing Christ Jesus my Lord.”

2Corinthians 12:9 “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.”

2Corinthians 4:18 “So we fix our eyes not on what is seen, but what is unseen.  For what is seen is temporary, but what is unseen is eternal.”

2 Corinthians 1:9 “…….But this happened that we might not rely on ourselves but on God, who raises the dead.”

1 Corinthians 2:9 “No eye has seen, no ear has heard, no mind has conceived what God has prepared for those who love him.”

Isaiah 55:9″….So are my ways higher than you ways and my thoughts than your thoughts.”

Proverbs 16:3 “Commit to the Lord whatever you do, and your plans will succeed.”

Thanks for stopping by 😎

Comments
  1. casey says:

    You know I struggle with fear, mostly when it comes to my children. Years ago I found a verse in the middle of the night (when I was afraid), and it has become the verse I quote when I find myself being fearful. Psalm 27:1 “The Lord is my light and my salvation; whom shall I fear? the Lord is my strength of my life; of whom shall I be afraid?”

  2. Nancy says:

    I’m so sorry to hear about your car window being smashed. That would kind of freak me out too! I’m so happy that God led you to encouraging verses and that you’re not giving in to the fear.

    Keep drinking in that Living Water! :O)

  3. So sorry to hear that someone did that to you. They say crime is on the rise because of the sinking economy. Glad you found verses of encouragement to fight the fear. Joshua 1:9 helped me a lot when my son was in the NICU.

Leave a Reply

