Christmas Mourning

Posted: December 16, 2008 in Uncategorized

With Christmas time upon us, of course my Hubby and I have been doing some shopping for our kids.  I normally don’t enjoy shopping, but shopping for Christmas presents for my kids is something that I think is fun. We have pretty much finished all the shopping and bought all the gifts, and the other day a very sad thought occurred to me;  we didn’t buy a single item in the toy section of the stores this year.

It made me feel somewhat melancholy to realize that we have moved past that era.  No more buying babydolls, or matchbox cars, or barbies, or dressups.  I guess it kind of snuck up on me and I hadn’t really thought about it before.  We are never again going to be shopping for toys for our children.  When did they grow up so fast?  Was I not paying attention? 

Of course, it is a new life and at times a very strange life, to have your “babies” grow to be bigger than you.  To be able to have adult conversations with them, to discuss current news and hear their ideas on certain subjects.  They are wonderful friends and great company.  I love seeing the kind, smart, observant young adults they have become.  But then, when I enter their rooms and see the floors covered with clothes and junk, and see all the posters hanging around, I am quickly brought back to reality that they are still just my sweet kids who will need me for many more years to come.

They just don’t need me to buy them anything in the toy section 😦 .

Comments
  1. I know how that feels. On the other hand, after finding gifts for my niece and nephews, I can tell you that today’s toys aren’t as cute (or sometimes, innocent) as those we bought our children.

    Hope you and your family have a wonderful Christmas!

Leave a Reply

