It’s a NEW year!

Posted: January 1, 2009 in Uncategorized

As a new year approaches, I love the anticipation that builds with it.  It is kinda like, “old things are passed away and all things are become new”.  I know that each day should hold the same fervor, but the new year just seems like a new start.  I like to think back to where I was at the end of 2007 and to where I am now.  Is it what I would have perceived for myself?  Am I where I thought I would be?  Definitely not!  New home, new state, new job, new people, new church, etc.  Everything is new and entirely not what I would have expected this time last year.

I don’t know about you, but I love that.  I love the fact that we never know what direction our life will take.  Each day is a new opportunity to see and discover what God has laid out for us.  Only He sees the “big” picture and only He knows what is in our future.  We only have today to live to it’s fullest and make our mark because we never know where we will be or what situation we will encounter in the days ahead. 

How can we then live with any assurance?  We make decisions in our life based on what we think is going to be of benefit to us in the future.  But that future is completely unknown.  Isn’t that somewhat of a fallacy in decision making?  We think we have it all planned out and all of our “ducks are in a row” and then, BAM, our “row” has completely disappeared and this new crooked path lies before us. 

I want to make as my prayer for this year, to live my life with eternity in mind.  I don’t know where I will be this time next year or next month or even tomorrow, but I do know where I will be in eternity and what I will be wishing I had done in my brief life here on earth.  I want to start to live my life now based on that.  That would be a life lived without regrets.

God, help me make decisions based on what will be of eternal benefit.

Thanks for stopping by and have a great NEW year! 😎

Comments
  1. Great thoughts for the new year! Hope yours is especially blessed!

  2. Nancy says:

    Very well said. Eternity is truly the only thing that is for certain.

Leave a Reply

